Sweet Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe!! I made a few minor changes and substituted the 1 cup of whole milk with evaporated milk and used sweetened condensed milk instead of the heavy cream. This is the closest I have come to finding a recipe that tastes like my Grandma's!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ben's mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
SMOOTH & CREAMY! This is not overly sweet. I thought I had made it wrong because it wasn't thick like other rice puddings. I researched Arroz con Leche and found it is "soupier" than American rice puddings. I cooked it a little longer to thicken to my preference, and once it cooled, it was perfect. SMOOTH & CREAMY! Thank you crys7422 for sharing your recipe. I learned something new tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I did as one reviewer and used sweetened condensed milk to replace that 2nd cup of milk. It was very good and made it more rich. If you do this, remember, do not add that 1/3 cup sugar. Try it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It's a nice rice pudding, but nothing spectacular. I made it for a crowd and it did not all get eaten. It's good, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Issac loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! Very creamy! I didn't change a thing and it thickened up just right. My husband said it wasn't sweet enough and added more sugar but I love it as is. As for those who say they loved this recipe but changed ingredients, you do realize don't you, that if you change an ingredient, add an ingredient or delete an ingredient then it is no longer this recipe. Just one of my petpeeves about many of the reviews on this site. But, enjoy this recipe as is or with alterations. bg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My family loved this receipe. I omitted the egg, and sugar. I did substitute evap milk for the 1 cup whole milk and used sweetened cond. milk for heavy cream as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
i love this rice! its so tasty and creamy! Definitely one of my favorites! Thanks, crys 7422!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I don't usualy like rice pudding but decided to try this recipe. Am I ever glad I did. It is smooth and creamy and best of all, yummy. I plan to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe was very good, I did take some advise from other reviews and used evaporated milk and sweetened condensed milk. I loved this recipe as a child and remember my mother boiling her water with a few sticks of cinnamon before adding the rice and ommiting the 1/2tsp of ground cinnamon. Overall this is a great Arroz con Leche. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.PB cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States