Sweet Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe was very good, I did take some advise from other reviews and used evaporated milk and sweetened condensed milk. I loved this recipe as a child and remember my mother boiling her water with a few sticks of cinnamon before adding the rice and ommiting the 1/2tsp of ground cinnamon. Overall this is a great Arroz con Leche. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My family loved this receipe. I omitted the egg, and sugar. I did substitute evap milk for the 1 cup whole milk and used sweetened cond. milk for heavy cream as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe should have included instructions to serve with a straw. I made it to take to a pot luck and was so disappointed. If the measurements are correct on the ingredients, then something else is wrong or omitted. A waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I did as one reviewer and used sweetened condensed milk to replace that 2nd cup of milk. It was very good and made it more rich. If you do this, remember, do not add that 1/3 cup sugar. Try it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I don't usualy like rice pudding but decided to try this recipe. Am I ever glad I did. It is smooth and creamy and best of all, yummy. I plan to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
SMOOTH & CREAMY! This is not overly sweet. I thought I had made it wrong because it wasn't thick like other rice puddings. I researched Arroz con Leche and found it is "soupier" than American rice puddings. I cooked it a little longer to thicken to my preference, and once it cooled, it was perfect. SMOOTH & CREAMY! Thank you crys7422 for sharing your recipe. I learned something new tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It's a nice rice pudding, but nothing spectacular. I made it for a crowd and it did not all get eaten. It's good, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe!! I made a few minor changes and substituted the 1 cup of whole milk with evaporated milk and used sweetened condensed milk instead of the heavy cream. This is the closest I have come to finding a recipe that tastes like my Grandma's!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ben's mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Issac loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States