Sweet Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is so good! creamy and delicious!!! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I love this recipe, I add a little anise extract ..gives it a extra kick :-) mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
i really liked it! I added some coconut milk and evaporated milk. My family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe a couple of times now. Like others when I followed it exactly it was a little too runny and not sweet enough. Each time I "doctored" it up a bit and I've finally got it the way my gramma used to make it. I had a happy accident and added two eggs instead of one. Two make my two cups of Milk I added a whole can of sweetened condensed and topped it off with 2%. I left that third cup of milk out completely. No added sugar. Thosone were my only changes. It came out thicker and richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c_risinger
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Don't know what I'm doing wrong, 1st time it was waaaay to runny, 2nd time it was not runny at all and tasted sticky. I used to eat sweet rice when I was younger and LOVED it.....guess I'll keep looking until I find a recipe similar to what I remember:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! Very creamy! I didn't change a thing and it thickened up just right. My husband said it wasn't sweet enough and added more sugar but I love it as is. As for those who say they loved this recipe but changed ingredients, you do realize don't you, that if you change an ingredient, add an ingredient or delete an ingredient then it is no longer this recipe. Just one of my petpeeves about many of the reviews on this site. But, enjoy this recipe as is or with alterations. bg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I've noticed a lot of reviews stating the rice is really soup-y or watery. I've made this plenty of times and it's always pretty thick. So, I'm thinking it could be that some people are following package directions for cooking the rice and then adding the water to the cooked rice? If that is not the problem, omit the 1 cup of milk added after the sweet rice is made, which will make it more custard-like. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crys7422

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
The ingredients were good but too much made it kind of runny when its supposed to be creamy, and I even combined the right amount and didn't even use it all and it still came out runny. next time I make I will make a few small changes. only reason why it didn't get 5 stars Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Thanks I made this for my apartment during our mission trip this fourth of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was a big hit at my potluck at work. I substituted 1% milk for whole milk and egg substitute for the egg and it was still great. I would try to cut down on the calories and fat further next time by using the other users suggestions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States