Sweet Rice and Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
People went insane, myself included, over this recipe! I wanted something that "felt like the very first time" I had Mango Sticky Rice and Thai food. This delivers! Thanks! Side note, MAKE SURE you get CREAM of coconut, it is different. I say this because I almost bought coconut milk and the man at my Asian American supermarket explained that they were different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
cook rice with coconut milk not water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I LOVED this recipe! I did use brown sugar because I ran out of white. I served it as dessert after salmon burgers, and it was the talk of the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
mango sticky rice ROCKS! HAHA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plant killer
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a good easy way to do this desert. I love this no matter how it's cooked and I'm a chocolate person--you should try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Had better from restaurants but this is a good recipe for a theme party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Okay, but it just didn't live up to the sweet rice I've had in restuarants. Will keep looking for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Perfect! Just like the restaurant. I tried some of the suggestions from other reviewers, so make sure you read them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This is a very easy, but not so much authentic way to make this wonderful dessert. Instead of cooking the rice in water use the coconut milk and add sugar to taste. This will make the rice have the "sticky" consistency and the more beautiful appearance. The flavor using this method is much more creamy and rich while still being light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Belgium
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Very yummy! This is my favorite desert that I order in Thai restaraunts. This recipe has the same flavor, but it doesn't look the same or have the same consistency as you would get in a restaraunt. But who cares! It tastes wonderful! I made the rice with my rice cooker and made it exactly as written, except I used Jasmine rice because it's all I had on hand. Next time I will use less sugar - that much sugar really made the rice a bit "watery". I've seen recipes for this dish that are more difficult - steaming sticky rice and boiling the coconut milk with sugar and salt to thicken it. But I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because of how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States