Sweet Restaurant Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I am on a diet and can't eat store bought coleslaw anymore. So I started looking for one I could easily convert to a lower calorie version and found this one. I simply substituted Miracle Whip lite for regular, granulated Splenda for sugar, and 2 Tbs of sour cream and 2 Tbs of vinegar for the oil and vinegar combination above. By my rough calculations it cut calories from 1250 calories for the entire batch down to about 380 calories for my light version! It still tasted great, better than 50-75% of restaurant store bought full calorie kind. The only change is I may try to knock out a little of the Miracle Whip as there is a lot of coating on mine because I didn't check until later but my cole slaw mix was only 14 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe for coleslaw. It's easy to make and was a great compliment to bbq pulled pork. I did make one adjustment to cut down on the sweetness. Used only a 1/4 of sugar and it was still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
With a few tweaks this recipe has been a huge hit in my family. Some do not like the onion but like the onion flavor. So, I thoroughly mix in plenty of onion powder with the slaw to start and let it sit for awhile. I double the recipe accept that I put in under a half a cup of sugar. A half cup was still to sweet for us even after doubling everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grewvy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Fixed this yesterday for a small family get together and it was a HUGE hit!! My husband, who despises coleslaw usually actually said to me that this was something he would actually eat on a regular basis! O_O Everyone gave it rave reviews and said how good it was. One person even scraped the bowl to get every last piece of it that was left. I did make a couple of minor changes that I don't think made too much of a difference in the end result. I used celery seed since I couldn't find poppy. I also used about 2-3 tbs less sugar, apple cider vinegar instead of white, and light flavor olive oil instead of veg. This was great. Wish I had made 2 batches instead of just the one. I will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My absolute favorite coleslaw recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My family loves this recipe- even my daughter who is not a coleslaw fan. I did make a few minor alterations. I replaced the dressing with Duke's low fat mayonnaise. I cut the sugar in half, added an additional 1/4 teaspoon salt and 3 additional Tablespoons vinegar. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon fresh cracked pepper. The result was delicious and not too sweet with the perfect vinegar bite. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I'll join the chorus and say that I really like this recipe with some modifications. Like many suggested, I halved the sugar and doubled the amount of vinegar to increase the level of acidity. I used Trader Joe's mayo, and a bit of garlic salt instead of table salt. It was great, thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is great! Tastes just like something a restaurant would serve. The hubby loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This slaw is very good. The only thing I used different was Hellman's mayo instead of salad dressing. Already had that in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The only problem with this recipe is that I can never eat any other slaw again. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States