Sweet Restaurant Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Don't tweek this it is good just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe with some modifications. Use celery seed instead of poppy seed, cut the oil by half and the sugar by a quarter, and use a flavored vinegar like pomegranate to add extra depth of flavor. I've brought this to many cookouts and there is NEVER any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I Used 2 tablespoon of wine vinegar instead, and redced oil to 2 tablespoon. This was great accompaniment to the texas slow cooker pork. Also used a small head of cabbbage(shredded) and a large shredded carrot instead of the bagged coleslaw mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Tastes like the best creamy cole slaw recipe served in restaurants, authentic. I will definitely cut back on the sugar substitute the next time. Yes, I used substitute instead of sugar; it didn't compromise the taste. Highly recommend. Dressing stays on the slaw, unlike most recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Amazing!! Only had cabbage was as good as KFC! Potluck material.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I shredded a whole large head of cabbage so I increased the mayo to 1 cup and doubled the vinegar. Didn't have poppy seeds either. Still turned out rave reviews at our Labor Day BBQ!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great as written but I tweaked it a little bit to fit my taste. I left out the oil...didn't miss it. Cut sugar amount in half, and it was still sweet enough and delicious. Then I used celery seed instead of poppy seeds, and celery salt instead of regular salt. I love how this recipe simplified and guided me to make the perfect coleslaw.....thanks Sandi for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is a relatively familiar recipe for me but still remains a favourite for everyone I prepare it for. I also scale back the sugar a tad, sub the oil for a couple dollops of sour cream, white vinegar for white wine vinegar, add a Tbsp of Dijon mustard and the juice from 1/2 lemon and a few shakes of Franks (I did say relatively familiar...lol). I think the moral of the story is that using the staple ingredients is key, but mess with 'em as you like. Thanks for the recipe Sandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I used half the amount of sugar and added 3 tablespoons of vinegar for a more tangy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I make this recipe all the time. The only thing I do differently is use Mayonnaise instead of Miracle Whip and add Nature Seasoning and Pepper to taste. Every time I make it a least someone asks me for the recipe and can't believe how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States