Sweet Restaurant Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I have made this recipe many times in the past 3 or so months since I discovered it. I love it. I've made it exactly as written, and it's a delicious, 5-star recipe. However, I have developed my own twist. I always use a whole red onion because it's so pretty, olive oil, raw sugar and apple cider vinegar. To my family, these changes really make this recipe come alive. I also prefer to make it the day before and let it sit overnight, as the flavours are so much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryn Archer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Not a fan of coleslaw in general, but this was so good! I took it to a 4th of July party and the guests were raving about it. Only change was adding a little more onion and dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Note: Decrease sugar to 1/4 cup and increase vinegar to 2 Tbs and increase poppy seed to 2 Tsp. Excellent flavor. Not to creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I have made this many time....it is my go to recipe. Easy and delicious. My husband and sons love it-even the picky son. I usually make it exactly as written and it is perfect. You can add raisins, dried cranberries or diced pineaplle if you want to change it up. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I've been using this recipe for the last 3-4 years, and I love it! I never have poppy seeds on hand, so I substitute celery seeds, and I double the amount of coleslaw. Comes out perfect every time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Amazing! It was delicious even before chilling. I added a small amount of grated carrot i had left in the fridge to amp up the colour factor a bit. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Very good! Followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out great. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I don't care for poppy seeds, so I also used celery and did cut the amount of sugar (Splenda) in half. Any time a recipe calls for either mayo or Miracle Whip, I use half of each to cut down on an overwhelming taste. Both were "light" but the finished product tastes great. Making the dressing early and letting it marry before mixing in the slaw kept it from getting runny. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Shredded more Carrot for this recipe. It's Chillin' in the fridge. I'm Taking it to a Church Fish Fry as a side dish. Looks Good. The real test is tomorrow! Lots of hungry people showing up w/ their side dishes tomorrow too. Wish me luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I thought the dressing was way too sweet! Sugar probably could have been cut back by half! I added lemon juice, more vinegar and salt to try to tone down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,761) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States