Sweet Restaurant Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I don't care for poppy seeds, so I also used celery and did cut the amount of sugar (Splenda) in half. Any time a recipe calls for either mayo or Miracle Whip, I use half of each to cut down on an overwhelming taste. Both were "light" but the finished product tastes great. Making the dressing early and letting it marry before mixing in the slaw kept it from getting runny. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Shredded more Carrot for this recipe. It's Chillin' in the fridge. I'm Taking it to a Church Fish Fry as a side dish. Looks Good. The real test is tomorrow! Lots of hungry people showing up w/ their side dishes tomorrow too. Wish me luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Miles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I thought the dressing was way too sweet! Sugar probably could have been cut back by half! I added lemon juice, more vinegar and salt to try to tone down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I used mostly mayo instead of miracle whip and only put half on and then after a couple hours drained it and added the rest of the sauce. Pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I make mine with about 1 1/2 T sugar. I add celery seeds - makes all the difference! I don't use oil, I add about a T of milk to thin the mayo, and red onion. Very quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
It is very sweet, but very good. Not sure if I would make it less sweet because it would defeat the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Excellent slaw recipe. Quick, easy and delicious. The only change I made was to replace the poppy seed. I didn't have the poppy seed & am not a fan of celery seed but wanted the crunch, so I threw a handful of roasted sunflower kernels in with the slaw/onion mix. Restaurant quality slaw. It will be my go-to recipe from now on. Thank you for this gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cripple Creek, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I used the 16 oz bag but used celery seed instead of poppy seeds. Basically when I put this together it tasted just like miracle whip. It did not taste like slaw. That was yucky. I had to add bunch more vinegar and oil and then a little more sugar. Then it tasted like slaw should. It got juicier over night. The miracle whip is way too much for this recipe. As for sugar how much you want will vary per person and needs to be adjusted when cooking or preparing. I like mine sweet. Ill rate it as OK because it seemed to work for so many people and it was great after I diluted the salad dressing with vinegar and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious!! Great Complement to my pulled pork sandwiches, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I had to tweak this recipe a bit, but only because I do not like a lot of the miracle whip on my coleslaw. I do not like to cover the flavor of the cabbage. I also added a 1/2 a teaspoon of pepper, and 1/2 a tablespoon of minced garlic, and 1/4 teaspoon mustard with horseradish. This recipe is great how it is, but for my family this is how we prefer it. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, I have never been able to eat and like coleslaw until this, original, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States