Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for peppers and sausage because my girls really like those ingredients but when I saw this recipe I had to try it because I am not as fond of peppers. I really liked this. I liked how the salsa brought everything together. I used "Gimme Lean" vegetarian sausage. My dh used chorizo for his portion. When I asked him if it was 4 or 5 stars, he said "10!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was a great recipe. I boiled the sweet potatoes for 11 minutes and they were perfect. Instead of italian sausage, I used italian seasoned turkey sausage to make it a little bit healthier. I used spicy chipotle salsa in mine. (I used a 17.5 oz jar...8 would not have been enough.) Chipotle goes really well with sweet potatoes. It wasn't terribly time consuming and it was really easy to make. I added a dab of reduced fat sour cream to the top-delish. I also felt that it was more than 4 servings; more like 6. My friend who had never had sweet potatoes before really enjoyed this dish. I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hainesville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This turned out great and was super easy to make. I cut down prep time by cooking the sausage and dicing the peppers& onions while I was waiting for the potatoes to boil and then threw everything in together. It turned out great.I used green peppers in stead of red since that was what was on hand and I left out the cumin since the salsa was pretty spicy on its own. I served it over white rice since we had it on hand and it was great. Some people ate as a stand alone the meal with out the rice. The left overs were great the next day for lunch, it reheats in the microwave well. Will definetly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I really wasn't sure what this was going to be like, but I had sweet potatoes, red bell peppers and leeks in my CSA box last week. I used the leeks instead of the onions and garlic and I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave,otherwise as written. It is one of the most colorful dishes I've ever made and was a nice mix of sweet, savory and spicy. It's fall in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The adults at the table all loved this recipe. So different and yet so good! Even with the peeling and chopping of the potatoes this dish was ready in 30 minutes- my idea of a good meal. The children were less enthusiastic. But that's because they believe all sweet potatoes should be mashed and very sweet. To get them to eat it, I wrapped theirs with sour cream in tortillas, burrito style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was truly delicious! And as my husband said, very colorful and beautiful for a fall dinner! It is a nice, if surprising, mix of flavors that is very satisfying. We served it with a green salad and it was perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This recipe was easy to make, and delicious!! I made just a few tweaks, just because I wanted to use up some ingredients I had in the house...I only used 1 large sweet potato (and definitly 8 minutes boiling was plenty), boneless breast of chicken chopped (it was good, but I'll try the sausage or boneless chicken thighs next time), and 1 red pepper (again, just because this is what I had in the kitchen). There was plenty of potato, but another pepper (even yellow or green) would be good. I used Newman's Own Pineapple salsa, which gave a very nice hint of sweetness. Makes a nice looking dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Perfectly delicious! My husband's new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very tasty!!!! I used jimmy dean precooked turkey patties. still yum-o! Will not cook sweet potatoes as long next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Delicious! I used vegetarian sausage (found at my local grocery store) to turn it into a vegetarian recipe! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States