Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was really surprisingly tasty! I used plain ol' bulk sausage (Jimmy Dean), browned it and then just added the veggies at that point rather than removing the sausage or adding additional oil. I 1/2" diced both the sweet potatoes and two LARGE red bell peppers, and boiled the potatoes 10 minutes -- anything more would have been mush. It makes a lot more than 4 servings in my opinion. Pita bread worked well with it, and I could see leftovers rolled in whole wheat tortillas as well. I might try a veggie sausage next time as this is so close to being a very healthy vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
i thought this was good. i will make it again. however, the type of salsa you use makes a huge difference in the recipe. so be warned use a good salsa, it makes and breaks the recipe. period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for peppers and sausage because my girls really like those ingredients but when I saw this recipe I had to try it because I am not as fond of peppers. I really liked this. I liked how the salsa brought everything together. I used "Gimme Lean" vegetarian sausage. My dh used chorizo for his portion. When I asked him if it was 4 or 5 stars, he said "10!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The adults at the table all loved this recipe. So different and yet so good! Even with the peeling and chopping of the potatoes this dish was ready in 30 minutes- my idea of a good meal. The children were less enthusiastic. But that's because they believe all sweet potatoes should be mashed and very sweet. To get them to eat it, I wrapped theirs with sour cream in tortillas, burrito style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Awesome dish! I roasted my sweet potatoes instead of boiling them as I find boiling them tends to take away most of their flavour. This was great the day of, but leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was a great recipe. I boiled the sweet potatoes for 11 minutes and they were perfect. Instead of italian sausage, I used italian seasoned turkey sausage to make it a little bit healthier. I used spicy chipotle salsa in mine. (I used a 17.5 oz jar...8 would not have been enough.) Chipotle goes really well with sweet potatoes. It wasn't terribly time consuming and it was really easy to make. I added a dab of reduced fat sour cream to the top-delish. I also felt that it was more than 4 servings; more like 6. My friend who had never had sweet potatoes before really enjoyed this dish. I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hainesville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very, very tasty! I used the pre-packaged 'seasoning blend' of veggies (onions, bell peppers, celery) which made it that much easier. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I really wasn't sure what this was going to be like, but I had sweet potatoes, red bell peppers and leeks in my CSA box last week. I used the leeks instead of the onions and garlic and I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave,otherwise as written. It is one of the most colorful dishes I've ever made and was a nice mix of sweet, savory and spicy. It's fall in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was truly delicious! And as my husband said, very colorful and beautiful for a fall dinner! It is a nice, if surprising, mix of flavors that is very satisfying. We served it with a green salad and it was perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was awesome! I've made this several times for friends and family. Everyone loved it. There is always a lot of food at the table but this always manages to take the spotlight. My older sister is pretty picky when it comes to food but she is always begging me to make this. I left out the salsa, cumin, garlic, salt and pepper. The sausage gave it all the flavor it needed. I really enjoy this recipe and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States