Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was really surprisingly tasty! I used plain ol' bulk sausage (Jimmy Dean), browned it and then just added the veggies at that point rather than removing the sausage or adding additional oil. I 1/2" diced both the sweet potatoes and two LARGE red bell peppers, and boiled the potatoes 10 minutes -- anything more would have been mush. It makes a lot more than 4 servings in my opinion. Pita bread worked well with it, and I could see leftovers rolled in whole wheat tortillas as well. I might try a veggie sausage next time as this is so close to being a very healthy vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Am giving my son a few cooking lessons -- we made this for dinner tonight -- a good "beginner" recipe and very tasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very, very tasty! I used the pre-packaged 'seasoning blend' of veggies (onions, bell peppers, celery) which made it that much easier. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nena Hug
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIT123
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very nice and easy to make. I used new potatoes as I didn't have any sweet potatoes and it was very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIT123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Wonderful dish! The only set back is the time it takes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Interesting blend of flavors. Savory and sweet. I tried to heed Suze's warnings of less time for the potatoes. I cooked them less than 10 minutes and still had mush! When the weather cools off I might try roasting the potatoes instead. Thanks Trinity for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was a great recipe. I boiled the sweet potatoes for 11 minutes and they were perfect. Instead of italian sausage, I used italian seasoned turkey sausage to make it a little bit healthier. I used spicy chipotle salsa in mine. (I used a 17.5 oz jar...8 would not have been enough.) Chipotle goes really well with sweet potatoes. It wasn't terribly time consuming and it was really easy to make. I added a dab of reduced fat sour cream to the top-delish. I also felt that it was more than 4 servings; more like 6. My friend who had never had sweet potatoes before really enjoyed this dish. I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hainesville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I was nervous about the combo of flavors, but this was really good. I used Vegetarian Italian Sausage by Tofurky and cut the salsa in half because the sausage is already so spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This turned out great and was super easy to make. I cut down prep time by cooking the sausage and dicing the peppers& onions while I was waiting for the potatoes to boil and then threw everything in together. It turned out great.I used green peppers in stead of red since that was what was on hand and I left out the cumin since the salsa was pretty spicy on its own. I served it over white rice since we had it on hand and it was great. Some people ate as a stand alone the meal with out the rice. The left overs were great the next day for lunch, it reheats in the microwave well. Will definetly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The adults at the table all loved this recipe. So different and yet so good! Even with the peeling and chopping of the potatoes this dish was ready in 30 minutes- my idea of a good meal. The children were less enthusiastic. But that's because they believe all sweet potatoes should be mashed and very sweet. To get them to eat it, I wrapped theirs with sour cream in tortillas, burrito style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States