Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
My family liked this, but I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. All my guys liked it too. We're a family that has to have some spice to our dinner and so I used a very hot salsa which made it a hit for us. I served this with rice and the only drawback was that it wasn't saucy enough. I do recommend though to have this as a side dish...say like for "Thanksgiving" . I will experiment a little to see if I can find a way to make it a little saucier (maybe some tomatoe juice?) Definitely worth trying!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Made this dish last night for dinner. Only had green bell peppers on hand, so I used that. I diced up and boiled separately while cutting up rest of veggies. I also added some garlicand used turkey sausage (not the crumbling kind). Maybe that is what turned it a bit. My 5 yr old thought it was too spicy (even with the mild salsa). I somewhat liked it, esp over rice. I might make this again, but only if I'm not the one who has to eat it all. Chances of that in my house is very likely since no one else likes salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The adults at the table all loved this recipe. So different and yet so good! Even with the peeling and chopping of the potatoes this dish was ready in 30 minutes- my idea of a good meal. The children were less enthusiastic. But that's because they believe all sweet potatoes should be mashed and very sweet. To get them to eat it, I wrapped theirs with sour cream in tortillas, burrito style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This turned out great and was super easy to make. I cut down prep time by cooking the sausage and dicing the peppers& onions while I was waiting for the potatoes to boil and then threw everything in together. It turned out great.I used green peppers in stead of red since that was what was on hand and I left out the cumin since the salsa was pretty spicy on its own. I served it over white rice since we had it on hand and it was great. Some people ate as a stand alone the meal with out the rice. The left overs were great the next day for lunch, it reheats in the microwave well. Will definetly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I was nervous about the combo of flavors, but this was really good. I used Vegetarian Italian Sausage by Tofurky and cut the salsa in half because the sausage is already so spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was a great recipe. I boiled the sweet potatoes for 11 minutes and they were perfect. Instead of italian sausage, I used italian seasoned turkey sausage to make it a little bit healthier. I used spicy chipotle salsa in mine. (I used a 17.5 oz jar...8 would not have been enough.) Chipotle goes really well with sweet potatoes. It wasn't terribly time consuming and it was really easy to make. I added a dab of reduced fat sour cream to the top-delish. I also felt that it was more than 4 servings; more like 6. My friend who had never had sweet potatoes before really enjoyed this dish. I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hainesville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Interesting blend of flavors. Savory and sweet. I tried to heed Suze's warnings of less time for the potatoes. I cooked them less than 10 minutes and still had mush! When the weather cools off I might try roasting the potatoes instead. Thanks Trinity for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Wonderful dish! The only set back is the time it takes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIT123
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very nice and easy to make. I used new potatoes as I didn't have any sweet potatoes and it was very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIT123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States