Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
i thought this was good. i will make it again. however, the type of salsa you use makes a huge difference in the recipe. so be warned use a good salsa, it makes and breaks the recipe. period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
It took me a while to peel, cut, and dice everything. The potatoes cooked in 8 minutes. I cooled the potatoes before cutting them into 1-1/2inch squares. I also thought there was something missing. I added 2TBLS Sofrito, 1/4 can of diced tomatoes with chillies and the liquid from that can. Still, something missing, so I added some duck sauce-- 3TBLS. PERFECT! Thanks for the interesting combination of ingredients.I'd have never thought of it on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very tasty!!!! I used jimmy dean precooked turkey patties. still yum-o! Will not cook sweet potatoes as long next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The recipe had a lot going for it but when it came time to serve it I ended up having to make some additions. It really needed some extra spices. The cumin just wasn't enough. I added brown sugar and ginger on top before I served it. It made the flavors really pop and it wasn't so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Wynelle Tallent Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Pretty dang good. Its different and very flavorful, and fun to make and eat! We ate it over rice with sour cream, and later I tried parmesan on top- I preferred that. My family loved it and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Perfectly delicious! My husband's new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This recipe was easy to make, and delicious!! I made just a few tweaks, just because I wanted to use up some ingredients I had in the house...I only used 1 large sweet potato (and definitly 8 minutes boiling was plenty), boneless breast of chicken chopped (it was good, but I'll try the sausage or boneless chicken thighs next time), and 1 red pepper (again, just because this is what I had in the kitchen). There was plenty of potato, but another pepper (even yellow or green) would be good. I used Newman's Own Pineapple salsa, which gave a very nice hint of sweetness. Makes a nice looking dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I really wasn't sure what this was going to be like, but I had sweet potatoes, red bell peppers and leeks in my CSA box last week. I used the leeks instead of the onions and garlic and I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave,otherwise as written. It is one of the most colorful dishes I've ever made and was a nice mix of sweet, savory and spicy. It's fall in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for peppers and sausage because my girls really like those ingredients but when I saw this recipe I had to try it because I am not as fond of peppers. I really liked this. I liked how the salsa brought everything together. I used "Gimme Lean" vegetarian sausage. My dh used chorizo for his portion. When I asked him if it was 4 or 5 stars, he said "10!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was truly delicious! And as my husband said, very colorful and beautiful for a fall dinner! It is a nice, if surprising, mix of flavors that is very satisfying. We served it with a green salad and it was perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States