Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Made this dish last night and it was pretty good. I boiled the sweet potatoes and then tossed them in my cast iron to brown them a little before adding in the veggies and ground meat. Nice dish to make during a busy week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Good for a change- something new for sweet potatoes. My family thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I was surprised by how much I liked this dish. Would not have thought to combine sweet potatoes + salsa + sausage. I used frozen sliced bell peppers/onion mix so there was very little prep work required. I will probably roast the potatoes next time for better flavor. I slightly overcooked them when boiling the first time and they fell apart in the final dish. This was even better leftover the next day. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is really yummy!!! I made 1/2 the recipe and it was plenty for two. I also made my own salsa in my Magic Bullet. Oh and I used sweet italian chicken sausage instead of italian sausage. I think whether you follow the recipe or use your own creativity this is delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight and everyone liked it! I always make recipes exactly as the recipe states the first time thru, and this turned out very good. I served it over plain white rice. I think the only thing I will change the next time I make it is to add one more red pepper and a bit more salsa. This is a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaluv

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colorado City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by killermccoy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I was looking for a receipe for the sweet potatoes that were getting old in the fridge. This worked out great. I had frozen hot italian sausage in the freezer which gave it a great kick. I didn't have cumin so I substituted chili powder and all I had was red onions. I really love the flavors - hot from the sausage and sweet from the potatoes. Great comfort food not good for the diet though...I wanted to eat the whole skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is really good! We used Jack's Thick and Chunky salsa and had used a slotted spoon to get rid of some of the liquid before we put it in. Also took some Tostito's Multigrain Scoop chips and ate it with those and it was great to get some crunch in there! Only boiled the potatoes for 10 minutes and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Makes even better left overs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was ok overall. Purchased a good gourmet salsa to go with it so that helped. The sweet potatoes could have used a little help/seasoning. It wasn't the best way to present them palate wise in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was awesome! I've made this several times for friends and family. Everyone loved it. There is always a lot of food at the table but this always manages to take the spotlight. My older sister is pretty picky when it comes to food but she is always begging me to make this. I left out the salsa, cumin, garlic, salt and pepper. The sausage gave it all the flavor it needed. I really enjoy this recipe and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States