Sweet Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
My sister in law asked me to bring sweet potatoes to a holiday party at her house... I am not even a big fan of sweet potatoes so I didn't know quite what to bring. I found this recipe online and it looked so easy and I love apples so I thought this might work. Oh my God, it was SO easy and it tasted so very good! It was a big hit!! Since she was having so many people over, I doubled the recipe and made it in a disposable foil pan in the oven rather than the microwave. I also sprinkled about a half cup of chopped pecans over the top to make it look a litle fancier and add some crunch. I baked it at 350 for about 45 minutes and she had it in a chafing dish at her house to keep it warm. It was awesome! I got lots of compliments :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Threw this straight into the trash can! This should NEVER happen to a sweet potato! Terrible texture contrast and taste contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was really good. I wasn't sure if the sweet potatoes were supposed to be drained, so I left about 1/2 the juice and it turned out good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Enjoyed this quick and easy way to fix a side dish that is almost like a dessert. Only way I changed it was to use fresh instead of canned sweet potatoes since I had a bunch of them. Precooked them in microwave, then peeled & thickly sliced them before adding to the apple pie mixture. Also cooked them in regular oven till bubbly since oven was on anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Oh My Gosh.Last year,before dinner,I had a whole table full of sweet potato challanged relatives. This year,they are begging me to make this again.The flavors of apples and sweet potatoes just meld so nicely and it just couldn't be easier to prepare.This is truely a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Wow! I needed something quick tonight and had these ingredients on hand. We LOVED it! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This was so easy to make my boyfriend made it for me (his cooking level: he just learned to brown hamburg). It was delicious, we'll definately have it again. Made for my family for Thanksgiving, now they've all got the recipe and are making it for their holiday parties too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASERRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
The combination of the apples and sweet potatoes was wonderful! My kids and my boyfriend enjoyed it and it was soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
good stuff for using up canned sweet potatoes. I would like to try it with fresh sweet potatoes somehow.. I bet that would be really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Simple and delicious; we used raw sweet potatoes which we microwaved then scooped out but we had home canned apple pie filling. We had to guess on quantities for both; however, we loved it! Yes, it would have been much faster with the canned goods, but we used what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States