Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was wonderful! Made this last night and the fam loved it! I understand why some people say its more like pate...because it is so moist. Because of that I did add one xtra slice of wheat bread and a little under 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. But trust me-its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This is a delicious meatloaf! My whole family loved it! I used 3 lbs of turkey because I have a big family so I needed to raise the temperature to 375. I only used one sweet potatoe and it gave just the right amount of flavor. I think that if I had gone by the recipe exactly and tripled everything it would have been way too much. I also left out the ketchup and put it on top instead, and I used Progresso breadcrumbs instead of slices of bread. I'm only giving this a 4 because I think the measurements need some revision. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I thought I'd try this recipe out for my family as meatloaf isn't ao popular in the UK. I made 1 minor change and that was to use Wholegrain mustard instead of Dijon as that was all I had. The meatloaf went down well. My 2 oldest kids adored it and the adults all thought it was delicious. My youngest son wasn't too impressed but he doesn't like sweet potatoes so that wasn't a suprise. The cold leftovers went in seconds as a fantastic sandwich filler. I found that the leftovers stayed together better as it was very moist when first cooked. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Shields, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I liked it because it is healthy and fairly simple. I liked the flavor, wasn't crazy about the texture, maybe I will use a smaller potato next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
very different but I liked it! I added more seasonings to bump up the taste but I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
So Good! Reading the reviews did help. I used half of ketchup mixture in and half on top as suggested by someone and everyone in the family (3 year old included) loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Hmmm. What did I do wrong? The meatloaf came out more like a pate - slices would not hold together. This made the children verrrrry suspicious! Perhaps the size of the sweet potato makes a difference? Admittedly I used a pretty big sweet potato, but I didn't expect the consistency of *gulp* raw ground meat. All of this being said, the taste of the meatloaf was really quite good - even for those who don't love the taste of ground turkey. Maybe the original contributor of this recipe (or someone who's had success) could suggest a measured amount of sweet potato?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASIAKAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I thought this recipe was an interesting spin on traditional meatloaf. I just used plain bread crumbs that you buy in the store and kept adding more until the meat didn't feel too moist. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodsavvyRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I thought it was great and the kids didn't know any better (they hate sweet potatoes). I only had a 1/2 pound of turkey, so I used a 1/2 pound of extra lean ground beef in it. And I didn't put the ketchup in it, just on it. It wasn't runny, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I thought this was delicious and easy. I cooked the sweet potato in the microwave, then just scooped out the flesh and mashed it in. I left out the BBQ sauce altogether, and the meatloaf didn't come out mushy at all (as others mentioned). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States