Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
this was very good, my husband and our 17 year old son LOVED it and he isn't big on turkey! I did take some of the other reviews into consideration. I used 2# of ground turkey, omitted the ketchup, used 4 slices of whole wheat bread and 1 sleeve of saltine crackers in mine, this was extremely moist...came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I had huge success with this recipe!! I took the advice of other reviewers and used half the sauce mixture (ketchup, barbecue sauce, and mustard) in the loaf and saved the other half to put on top as well as using Progresso bread crumbs (plain). I also used regular barbecue sauce and honey mustard instead of dijon. I cooked the sweet potato in the microwave and I found that to be quick and easy. I used a 9 x 9 baking pan and it worked great. I will DEFINITELY use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Heather McKie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina72913
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
One of the best meatloaf recipes I've ever had. My husband doesn't like ketchup, and even though there's a little in the recipe he still liked it. The sweet potatoes make it sweet enough that you don't need a lot of ketchup or bbq sauce to make it sweeter. It did come out a little mushy, so I recommend using extra bread. This is a keeper and plan on making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
It tastes REALLY GOOD! The only problem I had was the same as everyone else...it's a little mushy. I hadn't made meatloaf before, so I was a little nervous. I would also add some of the ketchup to the top next time. Good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Split decision in our house. Husband said I should make this again, I'm on the fence, and the kids are 50/50. Everyone agreed it was better with some extra honey bbq sauce on the side. I made mostly as directed, the only change was putting 1/4 of the ketchup/bbq sauce on top per other reviewers suggestions. It didn't seem wet when I put it into the oven, but fell apart when we served it. Not a big deal for just the family! If I make this again I'll probably skip the ketchup and mustard and just use the honey bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Healthy and very tasty! My boyfriend, who is usually very reluctant to grount turkey, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifferlopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I was attracted by the sweet potato but a little put off by the ketchup and bbq sauce. I took the other reviewers advice and only used half, I also didn't have any whole wheat bread so I subbed 2 thick slices of leftover Irish Soda bread that I had in the freezer and pulsed in the food processor. I'm thinking this yielded more crumbs than the 2 slices of wheat bread but did not have the "mushy" problem others seem to have. I'm a big fan of sweet & savory together so after baking the meatloaf for an hour, pulled it out and brushed peach preserves on top and put back in the oven for the last ten minutes. The end result was a nice firm meatloaf and the taste of the sweet potato really came through. The next afternoon I had leftovers (room temp) on crackers for a snack (delish!) and that's got me thinking about maybe making a small one for cocktail parties like a country pate. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Great taste! The texture came out more like a typical meatloaf because I reduced the amount of ketchup & mustard. I used plain bread crumbs that are finely ground, about a cup. Definitely don't need all that salt & pepper, only used a teaspoon of each. Would make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Jayme seemed to be OK with this and Doug was rather indifferent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I usually try to follow a recipe as written the 1st time that I make it but since so many people had mushy issues, I followed their advice and used half of the BBQ sauce/ketchup/mustard in the meat mix and the other half on top. It turned out great for me. I liked it a lot and will be making it again. Great taste and held together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States