Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. I'm always game for eating healthier. I did microwave my sweet potato which was quicker and instead of using regular bread for the crumbs, I used 1/3 cup of Italian breadcrumbs which seemed to be a perfect amount. I also used just 1 tsp. of salt and pepper since the ketchup and bbq sauce has plenty of flavor. This recipe is a keeper in our house. Thank U so much for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is a favorite at my house. I have to be honest though, I use the baked potato button on the microwave to cook the sweet potato. Then I just peel off the skin and mash it with a fork. I really hate cutting sweet potatoes. I also put half the ketchup mixture on top and half in the meat as others have mentioned. And meatloaf sandwiches the next day are amazing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good, will make it again. only change was to use 1/3c total bbq+ketchup and 1/3cup breadcrumbs instead of actual bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
A really tasty, healthy alternative to regular meatloaf! Will definitely make again. I didn't have honey bbq sauce so I used original and I used honey mustard (about 1 tbsp) instead of dijon mustard. Also, I did have to use more bread crumbs. I agree with others though and add a little ketchup to the mix but mainly to the top! It keeps it from getting too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This my just be my new favorite meatloaf recipe. It was wonderful. Moist--not greasy at all which some meat loaf can be. I am making it tonight for the second time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is the only meatloaf I've ever had that I liked (I don't care for beef but I've tried other recipes for turkey meatloaf). My beef-loving husband likes it and even my mom, who won't eat turkey burgers any more because "it's just too much meat", adores this recipe. To save some time and dirtying a pot I just poke some holes in the sweet potato with a fork, microwave it and then scoop the cooked flesh out of the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
too sweet, definitley needed more bread, it is a little too moist. I am going to keep it divided and frozen as a healthy protien for my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I found this recipe by using the 'ingredients' option and gave it a try last night. I did make a couple minor alterations to suit our tastes. I sauteed the onion and garlic gently until translucent before adding to the loaf mix (hubby dislikes finding semi-raw onion in his meatloaf), and I left much of the sweet potato in small chunks. The resulting slices, while soft due to the natural texture of turkey were lovely - studded with golden nuggets of sweet potato. Hubby, whose appetite has been difficult to entice due to health issues, ate every bite and congratulated me on finding such a delightful recipe ;-) I served it with a simple side - canned green beans, mostly drained, added to sauteed garlic with Italian spice mix. The tang contrasted nicely with the sweetness of the loaf. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slywlf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Totally love this recipe!!! The only thing different I did was substitute reg bread crumbs in for the bread and took the other reviewers suggestion and put half the ketchup mixture on top and it was amazing! Even my three yr old, who is quite possibly the pickiest eater ever, liked it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I really liked this recipe, but I did change it a bit (I know, I know. Go ahead and curse silently at me.) Anyway, I used a pound of turkey and a pound of ground chicken. I used two eggs to make up for the extra meat, as well. I, too, did the half and half with the sauce - half in the mixture and half on top (although I didn't really measure anything.) I really liked it and it's even better the next day. Plus, the sweet potatoes make it a pretty color. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States