Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. Looking for a nice change for regular meatloaf and something else to do with ground turkey other than burgers. I did change the recipe, added 1/4 oats (since other reviews claimed it was dry), 1/4 bread crumbs, 2 slices of bread and halved all the wet ingredients. I threw everything in a bowl and mixed by hand. Put more BBQ sauce and ketchup on top. Baked in a 13x9 dish and made a long log- again so it could crisp up. Texture was much better than expected based on previous reviews and comments. It was def on the bland side, but thats ok--it is a meatloaf. Hubby found it to be a nice change, and we might have it again. Don't skimp on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was really good, very sweet and not the least bit greasy! I didn't have the honey bbq sauce or the dijon mustard, so I substituted with Stubbs Mesquite bbq sauce and Honey mustard, which may have made it too sweet. Personally, I think I would add more spices next time to even out the sweetness with a little bit of spice. But, I think it would be better with Dijon mustard, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by September123
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The ketchup, dijon mustard, bbq sauce I mixed in a separate bowl, adding half to the meat and half spread on top. It worked well, although next time I might make more of it because I actually found the meatloaf itself kind of bland. I used oatmeal instead of wheat bread, which in my opinion doesn't cause it to have a weird consistency or cause it to easily fall apart. If you don't have honey bbq sauce, which I didn't, you could mix plain bbq sauce and honey which works and tastes great. I actually wish there had been extra of that bbq/ketchup/dijon mixture because it would have worked nicely on other meat dishes. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by September123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great flavor. Way too salty. Next time, I wouldn't add the 1T salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've made this twice - with sweet potato once, and squash the next - very tasty. It doesn't replace regular meatloaf, however. Very different. I only rate 3 stars, because it literally falls apart when serving and I dish it up with a large spoon. Would never make for company because of this issue, but the flavor is good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
not my favorite at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
this recipe was just a little to sweet for my family's tastes so I used some regular potatoes as well and used a whole package of crushed saltines! This made it less sweet and little firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I have made several turkey meatloaves. All were "ok", but I tried another recipe. I found this one and OMG it is delish! I doubled the recipe(that is the turkey amount I had) followed the recipe exactly for the ingredients,I put 1/2 of the sauce in and 1/2 on top and cooked my loaves in my cupcakes tin and I love the crusty edges so I thought why not? Well it was perfect. simple serving, portion control and easy. This is so moist and flavorful. Really. Not one seasoning out shines the other. We them the 1st night out of the oven. Next night I had sandwiches, cold. and the 3rd we had them warmed up and shared with some friends(pot luck kind of thing) and they were all begging me for the recipe. 100% with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
THis was very good! I also microwaved my potato and added about 1 to 1.5 cups italian brea crumbs. I like to make my meatloaf in 9x12 pan so all the side and top get browned. Less mushy. I added the sauce to the top to cook but it needed more. Next time I will add additional sauce to the loaf about 15 minutes before it is done. My DH and I also added Franks Hot Wing sauce to our portions at the table and it was REALLY YUMMY! If you like a little kick, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States