Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Delivers what you'd expect from the title--nothing relevatory, but not a disappointment either. I put half the mustard/ketchup/BBQ on top, at the advice of other reviewers, and substituted 3/4c bread crumbs for the whole wheat bread, which I didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I had to improvise: Skipped the onion and used bread crumbs instead of the sliced bread. Still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My 4 year old ate it and it is healthy! I used Italian bread crumbs halved the ketchup sauce half in and half on top and cooked on 400 for 25 minutes using my cupcake pan! Husband was impressed. Has a crab cake consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I took many suggestions from the other reviews and LOVED this recipe! Half the ketchup/BBQ sauce mixture in the meatloaf, half on top. 3 pieces of whole what bread instead of 2. Also added approx 1 TBS of dried rosemary (coincidentally homegrown). Next time I want to try some chopped green pepper also. Will definitely be making this again and suggesting this recipe to family and friends. Thanks Mrs. Mula-Howard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This meatloaf was a little soft, but still held shape okay. We baked the sweet potato before mashing and used part of the bbq/ketchup sauce on top, as well as mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It was really yummy. I followed other reviewers advice and only added half the mustard/bbq sauce to the meat mixture, and put the other half on top. It worked out perfectly. I also microwaved the potato instead of boiling and I think that helped with the "wetness" other reviewers mentioned. Really good taste. The sauce on top was sort of sweet which complimented the savory meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Always looking for meatloaf recipe variations. Thanks for the base. I took a few short cuts, as I didn't have time to boil the sweet potato. I popped it the micro and then mashed to cool off for a bit. I also reduced the ketchup and didn't add bbq. I only had shallots, so didn't add as much, but also included some dried onions. Other than that...it was the same. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Sooo good! But I chopped my sweet potato into. Small cubes and panfried like hashbrowns with a little coconut oil and half of a large red onion also chopped fine. I also topped the meatloaf with a mixture of the honey barbecue, ketchup, Dijon mustard, and two large tablespoons of Chinese mustard for a kick. Really good the next day lightly panfried and placed on 100 cal wheat bread round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. Looking for a nice change for regular meatloaf and something else to do with ground turkey other than burgers. I did change the recipe, added 1/4 oats (since other reviews claimed it was dry), 1/4 bread crumbs, 2 slices of bread and halved all the wet ingredients. I threw everything in a bowl and mixed by hand. Put more BBQ sauce and ketchup on top. Baked in a 13x9 dish and made a long log- again so it could crisp up. Texture was much better than expected based on previous reviews and comments. It was def on the bland side, but thats ok--it is a meatloaf. Hubby found it to be a nice change, and we might have it again. Don't skimp on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States