Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Very nice soup! I followed the recipe exactly as written and was not disappointed. I did use the full six cups of broth (3 cans) and did not need to add salt. Tastes like a very gourmet kind of soup. It was smooth and creamy, and subtle, quite outstanding results from such simple and readily available ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This was very good. I did use Low Fat evaporated milk in place of the heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
My wife made this for me the other night - she didn't have a turnip so she added an extra sweet potato - loved the spices - went really well with the mini corn muffins I made earlier in the week - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
this is an amazing soup. i will make it again and again. i like to add soy suace after cooking. it makes it even better if you like your food salty, and the added taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
My family and I thought that this soup was wonderful. I did make some changes to reduce the fat content: instead of using heavy whipping cream I used 1% milk. I also added a small amount of a salt/pepper spice blend and I always sprinkle on lemon pepper at the table. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This soup has become a family favourite. Very easy to prepare and delicious. I use either 2% milk or half and half or a combination of both instead of the whipping cream. This soup also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This is a wonderful soup. I used my hand mixer/blender to make the soup lumpless, We all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.j. Harrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Easy to make and taste great. I like the flavor the tunrips with fresh nutmeg add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Unique recipe! Made this and brought it to work. Everyone liked it. I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tioga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great soup even without the heavy cream and butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States