Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
My wife made this for me the other night - she didn't have a turnip so she added an extra sweet potato - loved the spices - went really well with the mini corn muffins I made earlier in the week - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This soup has become a family favourite. Very easy to prepare and delicious. I use either 2% milk or half and half or a combination of both instead of the whipping cream. This soup also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I made this soup because I was craving a sweet potato soup I tried at a restaurant. I thought this soup was just as good, if not better! I used maple syrup instead of the brown sugar, and a very small turnip. I also forgot to put in the margarine, and I don't think it mattered. Another thing that impressed me is how easy this recipe was to make. The hardest part was peeling the potatoes! It took less than 30 minutes, start to finish, which is an accomplishment for me since I'm a beginning cook. I was also pleased that the ingredients weren't expensive. I'll definitely make this soup again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I used carrot instead of turnip, really nice soup for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I wasn't crazy about this soup. It tasted more like turnip than anything else. It was just okay. If I ever make it again (doubtful), I would only put a "bit" of turnip - not a whole one. I had to add water at the end - it was too thick to eat. And it made way more than 4 servings. A B- maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I made this today and we had it for supper. Here are the changes I made: I used less nutmeg (one teaspoon, and even that is plenty) and I used a lower-fat type of cream: 5% fat instead of 35% fat content. The soup was thick enough, due to the potatoes, I guess, so this lighter cream was fine. It was appreciated by the whole family. It is real tasty, creamy, and filling. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Yum! I just made this soup, using what I had on hand. I only used about 1/2 cup chopped turnip and subbed carrots for the regular potatoes. Had to use maple syrup in place of the sugar and used milk instead of cream. Oh, and I also used less nutmeg, as mine is strong. This was TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Very nice soup! I followed the recipe exactly as written and was not disappointed. I did use the full six cups of broth (3 cans) and did not need to add salt. Tastes like a very gourmet kind of soup. It was smooth and creamy, and subtle, quite outstanding results from such simple and readily available ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
My family and I thought that this soup was wonderful. I did make some changes to reduce the fat content: instead of using heavy whipping cream I used 1% milk. I also added a small amount of a salt/pepper spice blend and I always sprinkle on lemon pepper at the table. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This was very good. I did use Low Fat evaporated milk in place of the heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States