Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
this is an amazing soup. i will make it again and again. i like to add soy suace after cooking. it makes it even better if you like your food salty, and the added taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
My wife made this for me the other night - she didn't have a turnip so she added an extra sweet potato - loved the spices - went really well with the mini corn muffins I made earlier in the week - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
My family and I thought that this soup was wonderful. I did make some changes to reduce the fat content: instead of using heavy whipping cream I used 1% milk. I also added a small amount of a salt/pepper spice blend and I always sprinkle on lemon pepper at the table. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Very nice soup! I followed the recipe exactly as written and was not disappointed. I did use the full six cups of broth (3 cans) and did not need to add salt. Tastes like a very gourmet kind of soup. It was smooth and creamy, and subtle, quite outstanding results from such simple and readily available ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I wasn't crazy about this soup. It tasted more like turnip than anything else. It was just okay. If I ever make it again (doubtful), I would only put a "bit" of turnip - not a whole one. I had to add water at the end - it was too thick to eat. And it made way more than 4 servings. A B- maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This was very good. I did use Low Fat evaporated milk in place of the heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I made this today and we had it for supper. Here are the changes I made: I used less nutmeg (one teaspoon, and even that is plenty) and I used a lower-fat type of cream: 5% fat instead of 35% fat content. The soup was thick enough, due to the potatoes, I guess, so this lighter cream was fine. It was appreciated by the whole family. It is real tasty, creamy, and filling. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Edible, but not enjoyable. Might be good as an appetizer, but not a main meal - we were tired of the taste after a few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I used carrot instead of turnip, really nice soup for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This soup has become a family favourite. Very easy to prepare and delicious. I use either 2% milk or half and half or a combination of both instead of the whipping cream. This soup also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States