Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I was looking for something easy on sick stomachs and could use what we had on hand and this workded perfectly. i added a little cinnamon and less of the nutmeg. Also left out the turnip altogether as suggested by other reviewers. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I made this soup because I was craving a sweet potato soup I tried at a restaurant. I thought this soup was just as good, if not better! I used maple syrup instead of the brown sugar, and a very small turnip. I also forgot to put in the margarine, and I don't think it mattered. Another thing that impressed me is how easy this recipe was to make. The hardest part was peeling the potatoes! It took less than 30 minutes, start to finish, which is an accomplishment for me since I'm a beginning cook. I was also pleased that the ingredients weren't expensive. I'll definitely make this soup again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this soup on Thanksgiving and had nothing but rave reviews!! I omitted the nutmeg and used vegetable broth, it was delicious! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Novak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oaklyn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Outstanding. I substituted bottled key lime juice for the fresh lime. Reduced fat peanut butter worked great to save on calories and fat and I browned the garlic and onion in a tsp of olive oil to skip the butter. Definitely a keeper - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
We really enjoyed this - it's thick and creamy. After reading the reviews about the strong turnip taste, I opted for large potatoes and a smallish turnip. I didn't notice any overly strong turnip taste. I would recommend adding the nutmeg a little at a time and tasting as you go. I stopped at 1 tsp. and wished I would have put in less - turns out I don't like nutmeg. Next time I'm going to try allspice instead - this is used in another similar soup that I make and I prefer that taste. This is perfect with some warm crusty bread on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I really liked this soup but after a few bites, all I could taste was the turnip. I would use maybe a quarter turnip or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great soup even without the heavy cream and butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Other than using 1% milk instead of whipping cream, I didn't change a thing. We sure enjoyed this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Unique recipe! Made this and brought it to work. Everyone liked it. I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tioga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Unfortunately we weren't thrilled with this recipe. I followed it exactly, but it was somewhat bland. The soup was very thick and as another reviewer wrote, we were tired of the taste after a few bites. This recipe makes a lot of soup so we had a lot left over to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States