Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fantastic recipe, and very simple and quick to make! I made the recipe as is and it turned out delicious. I might try adding a little garlic next time...yummy. Definitely a great, light soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe because I needed to use up a turnip and some 1/2 & 1/2. What a delicious treat, even though I used water instead of chicken broth. The nutmeg makes the soup! This is a soup-er recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a really good soup, but it seemed to lack "something" when I made it the first time. The SECOND time I made it, I substituted salted butter for the margarine and added 1 good sized Vidallia onion (skinned and sliced), 3 (fresh and scraped) carrots and 1 parsnip (ditto). When I served "my soup" to my family (adults), I called it "Root Soup". Except that, after they were finished giggling at Mom and her idyos, they gobbled it up like little I had ever seen before. Want to/need to add meat (which I plan to do in the future)? I'd suggest either Italian sausage or Kielbasa (something with FLAVOR). Want to add Cheese? My personal favorite is Velveeta (it melts so easily) but I think Parmesan, Locatelli, Romano and/or any "goat cheese" (perhaps FETA) would "work" very well here, too. In brief, while I genuinely like the idea of using this soup as a "base", there's SO MUCH MORE that it can be. IMO, "creaming" this soup is a MUST; use either 1/2+1/2 or heavy/whipping cream. I generally "pulverize" (using my immersion blender) at least 1/3 of my "pot" before I serve. I find that this allows to a really great texture/"dining experience".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was a really nice soup for a luncheon. Would go nice with a sandwich or salad. DH used is as more of a "sauce" over 2 or three pieces of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldsjackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was excellent, thank you! I was looking for something I could do with leftover roasted sweet potatoes and leftover mashed potatoes. I didn't add the turnip and ended up only putting in 4 cubs of chicken broth because I didn't have the need to boil the veggies. It turned out excellent, YAY!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This soup was ok. I omitted the turnip and added extra seasonings, but it was still missing something. I likely will not be making it again. I do recommend adding some more spices (red pepper, garlic, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Great soup - easy and elegant! My husband and I really enjoyed it. It had a nice hearty flavor, and I would definitely serve it for company because it is pretty quick and easy. I didn't notice any strong turnip flavor like the other reviewers mentioned. Here's the substitutions I did: I substituted veggie stock for the chicken stock and didn't add any salt because it didn't seem to need it. Instead of the 1 and a half teaspoons of nutmeg, I used a half teaspoon of nutmeg, a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a half teaspoon of garam masala (it would probably be taste good with curry, too). I also used half and half instead of heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Great alternative from pumpkin soup. I didnt blend the soup i mashed it with a ppotato masher as i like the rustic feel. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Warm wholesome yumminess! I actually used Vanilla Soymilk in place of the whipping cream, which probably wasn't as good, but still quite tasty anyway. Also reduced amount of nutmeg and brown sugar a bit. It's so easy (and good for a budgeting household) so I'll be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Quick, easy and very tasty! I didn't have turnip so I left that out, and used whole milk instead of cream. And I used a little cinnamon (1/2 tsp) instead of all the nutmeg, though next time I would use a little less cinnamon. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States