Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
After having a soup like this the other day in a restaurant I went searching for one that was similar to make. I found this one. It was a success and definitely one I will make again and again. Smooth, creamy. I did make a few changes, I added nutmeg pinch by pinch to taste as some others said it was too much. I also added a dash of cinnamon. I also put a bit more cream. Basically the spices are a personal preference. Thumbs up to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fantastic recipe, and very simple and quick to make! I made the recipe as is and it turned out delicious. I might try adding a little garlic next time...yummy. Definitely a great, light soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe because I needed to use up a turnip and some 1/2 & 1/2. What a delicious treat, even though I used water instead of chicken broth. The nutmeg makes the soup! This is a soup-er recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a really good soup, but it seemed to lack "something" when I made it the first time. The SECOND time I made it, I substituted salted butter for the margarine and added 1 good sized Vidallia onion (skinned and sliced), 3 (fresh and scraped) carrots and 1 parsnip (ditto). When I served "my soup" to my family (adults), I called it "Root Soup". Except that, after they were finished giggling at Mom and her idyos, they gobbled it up like little I had ever seen before. Want to/need to add meat (which I plan to do in the future)? I'd suggest either Italian sausage or Kielbasa (something with FLAVOR). Want to add Cheese? My personal favorite is Velveeta (it melts so easily) but I think Parmesan, Locatelli, Romano and/or any "goat cheese" (perhaps FETA) would "work" very well here, too. In brief, while I genuinely like the idea of using this soup as a "base", there's SO MUCH MORE that it can be. IMO, "creaming" this soup is a MUST; use either 1/2+1/2 or heavy/whipping cream. I generally "pulverize" (using my immersion blender) at least 1/3 of my "pot" before I serve. I find that this allows to a really great texture/"dining experience".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was a really nice soup for a luncheon. Would go nice with a sandwich or salad. DH used is as more of a "sauce" over 2 or three pieces of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldsjackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was excellent, thank you! I was looking for something I could do with leftover roasted sweet potatoes and leftover mashed potatoes. I didn't add the turnip and ended up only putting in 4 cubs of chicken broth because I didn't have the need to boil the veggies. It turned out excellent, YAY!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This soup was ok. I omitted the turnip and added extra seasonings, but it was still missing something. I likely will not be making it again. I do recommend adding some more spices (red pepper, garlic, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Great soup - easy and elegant! My husband and I really enjoyed it. It had a nice hearty flavor, and I would definitely serve it for company because it is pretty quick and easy. I didn't notice any strong turnip flavor like the other reviewers mentioned. Here's the substitutions I did: I substituted veggie stock for the chicken stock and didn't add any salt because it didn't seem to need it. Instead of the 1 and a half teaspoons of nutmeg, I used a half teaspoon of nutmeg, a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a half teaspoon of garam masala (it would probably be taste good with curry, too). I also used half and half instead of heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Great alternative from pumpkin soup. I didnt blend the soup i mashed it with a ppotato masher as i like the rustic feel. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Warm wholesome yumminess! I actually used Vanilla Soymilk in place of the whipping cream, which probably wasn't as good, but still quite tasty anyway. Also reduced amount of nutmeg and brown sugar a bit. It's so easy (and good for a budgeting household) so I'll be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States