Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fantastic recipe, and very simple and quick to make! I made the recipe as is and it turned out delicious. I might try adding a little garlic next time...yummy. Definitely a great, light soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe because I needed to use up a turnip and some 1/2 & 1/2. What a delicious treat, even though I used water instead of chicken broth. The nutmeg makes the soup! This is a soup-er recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a really good soup, but it seemed to lack "something" when I made it the first time. The SECOND time I made it, I substituted salted butter for the margarine and added 1 good sized Vidallia onion (skinned and sliced), 3 (fresh and scraped) carrots and 1 parsnip (ditto). When I served "my soup" to my family (adults), I called it "Root Soup". Except that, after they were finished giggling at Mom and her idyos, they gobbled it up like little I had ever seen before. Want to/need to add meat (which I plan to do in the future)? I'd suggest either Italian sausage or Kielbasa (something with FLAVOR). Want to add Cheese? My personal favorite is Velveeta (it melts so easily) but I think Parmesan, Locatelli, Romano and/or any "goat cheese" (perhaps FETA) would "work" very well here, too. In brief, while I genuinely like the idea of using this soup as a "base", there's SO MUCH MORE that it can be. IMO, "creaming" this soup is a MUST; use either 1/2+1/2 or heavy/whipping cream. I generally "pulverize" (using my immersion blender) at least 1/3 of my "pot" before I serve. I find that this allows to a really great texture/"dining experience".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was a really nice soup for a luncheon. Would go nice with a sandwich or salad. DH used is as more of a "sauce" over 2 or three pieces of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldsjackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was excellent, thank you! I was looking for something I could do with leftover roasted sweet potatoes and leftover mashed potatoes. I didn't add the turnip and ended up only putting in 4 cubs of chicken broth because I didn't have the need to boil the veggies. It turned out excellent, YAY!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This soup was ok. I omitted the turnip and added extra seasonings, but it was still missing something. I likely will not be making it again. I do recommend adding some more spices (red pepper, garlic, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Great soup - easy and elegant! My husband and I really enjoyed it. It had a nice hearty flavor, and I would definitely serve it for company because it is pretty quick and easy. I didn't notice any strong turnip flavor like the other reviewers mentioned. Here's the substitutions I did: I substituted veggie stock for the chicken stock and didn't add any salt because it didn't seem to need it. Instead of the 1 and a half teaspoons of nutmeg, I used a half teaspoon of nutmeg, a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a half teaspoon of garam masala (it would probably be taste good with curry, too). I also used half and half instead of heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Great alternative from pumpkin soup. I didnt blend the soup i mashed it with a ppotato masher as i like the rustic feel. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Warm wholesome yumminess! I actually used Vanilla Soymilk in place of the whipping cream, which probably wasn't as good, but still quite tasty anyway. Also reduced amount of nutmeg and brown sugar a bit. It's so easy (and good for a budgeting household) so I'll be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Quick, easy and very tasty! I didn't have turnip so I left that out, and used whole milk instead of cream. And I used a little cinnamon (1/2 tsp) instead of all the nutmeg, though next time I would use a little less cinnamon. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States