Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Yum. Didn't have white potatoes so I used 4 yams. Didn't have a turnip either so I made it without. Used butter instead of margarine. But it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very very good. Minor adjustments to my own personal taste but an excellent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Severed this before Thanksgiving dinner. Some people were skeptical of this soup-but everyone loved it. Best if served with biscuits or french bread. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
good, but this calls for Way too much nutmeg! I would use half the ammount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wonderful! I also thought the turnip flavor was a bit too heavy! I willl add 1/2 next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was delicious! I replaced the turnip with one diced onion and a little garlic. I used a tablespoon of maple syrup and a bit of brown sugar. I otherwise followed as it, but before serving I diced up some ham in fine cubes and topped the soup with ham. It was fantastic and got rave reviews from the company I had over. The salt of the ham with the sweetness of the soup was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup was super easy to make. I tasted it before I put in any spices and thought it was good. Then I put the nutmeg (used 1/3 of the amount cause I was worried about it) in and it all went down hill from there. I have used nutmeg in other things, usually baking, but in this it just didn't work for me. I ended up putting in some cinnamon, and 3 times the sugar just to get it to a point where it was edible for me. If I try this again I think I'll try carrot instead of turnip and leave out the nutmeg entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was pretty good. I think it was too much nutmeg. Next time I'd use about half the amount. I also would add an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Yum! I just made this soup, using what I had on hand. I only used about 1/2 cup chopped turnip and subbed carrots for the regular potatoes. Had to use maple syrup in place of the sugar and used milk instead of cream. Oh, and I also used less nutmeg, as mine is strong. This was TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
After having a soup like this the other day in a restaurant I went searching for one that was similar to make. I found this one. It was a success and definitely one I will make again and again. Smooth, creamy. I did make a few changes, I added nutmeg pinch by pinch to taste as some others said it was too much. I also added a dash of cinnamon. I also put a bit more cream. Basically the spices are a personal preference. Thumbs up to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States