Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Agree with others that this is a great starter recipe. It was a little bland for me so I added Parmesiana Regiano (about 1/4 cup) and about a third of a cup of plain full fat yogurt. To make up for adding fat I used half heavy cream and half 2% milk. I topped with chopped parsley, another dollop of yogurt, and fresh grated nutmeg and finishing salt. My husband absolutely LOVED this recipe!! Will definately make it again. It is a very uncomplicated recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This soup was good. Not great, but good. To make it a little more interesting, I substituted the cream for coconut milk and added a dash of cumin and some curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made this per recipe, and easily altered vegan by using almond milk and veg stock. Flavor falls a little flat, but garlic definitely brings it together. Thank you for a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Unlike most people who claim to have followed the recipe, we really did follow this recipe as closely as we could, with just one minor variation: we used 2% instead of heavy whipping cream. We just didn't have the heavy whipping cream on hand. The result was not what I expected. I would categorize this as pumpkin pie baby food. You might as well just get some baby food, add a little nutmeg, (or a lot, as the recipe calls for), and add some water and call it soup. It really is just watered down baby food when you think about it. Blehk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
So good! I didn't put a turnip in, but instead added carrots and a large onion. I left out the butter and used 2% milk instead of cream. I also cut down on the nutmeg but added both cayenne pepper and turmeric. Yummy with crumbled bacon on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Love it! I used carrots instead of turnip and added a celery stock, also swapped out one of the white potatoes for red potatoes. The nutmeg really made this. I only used 1 tsp because that's all I had left and it was great. Just the perfect hint of nutmeg in the taste. Will be making this again! And I didn't transfer it in to the processor to puree, I just put my hand blender in to the pot on the stove and that did the job perfectly. No need to dirty something else in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Turned out pretty yummy!!! I followed the recipe mostly, but added: leeks, celery, an apple, two pears, and green onions and nixed the white potatoes doubling the sweet potatoes instead. Trying to pack it with more veggies. I used Splenda brown sugar instead to cut calories. I served with a balsamic salad, and a fresh loaf of rosemary artisan crusty bread. Thanks for sharing this! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airisaiia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I didn't have any white potatoes so I just used all sweet potatoes. Also threw in a chopped onion. This soup was easy to make and very tasty! We served this with grilled gouda and mozzarella cheese sandwiches. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I'm almost finished making this for a charity event. I'm using real salted butter, 1/2 the nutmeg, roasted garlic and only half the amount of turnips plus a little cinnamon and pepper. I'm making it for a local charity event and I think it will be a big hit. I already love it and my kitchen smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is a tasty, easy soup to make. I did alterate a bit - I omitted the turnip (didn't have one), used 1% milk instead of cream and added 2 T additional butter, doubled the brown sugar and cut down considerably on the nutmeg (personal preferance), maybe used 1/4 tsp. I also added some mini marshmallows while the soup was in my bowl and let them melt...mmm,mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States