Sweet Potato Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I changed this recipe quite a bit. I used only 1 egg, (don't know what 2 1/3 eggs means) 1/4 cup of sugar made it sweet enough, 1/4 cup heavy cream and used firm butter for the topping. Used only 1/2 cup coconut. Thanks for this recipe though! It's very good with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
So good! My niece who won't eat anything orange loved it. She is 25! It is just as good leftover. Very easy - 1 lg can of sweet potatoes comes out to 3 cups mashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
We were served this recipe at Thanksgiving 2002... It was a welcome change from the traditional "yams & marshmallows" dish. Very rich and filling...highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Good, but really sweet. I made it with 3 large potatoes (a bit more than 3 cups) and used 2/3 cups white sugar and about 1/4 cup maple syrup (I love it in just about everything!) Next time, I would make less topping, about 3/4's because that made it too sweet. But I love the consistancy with the eggs and the topping is yummy with coconut and pecans! Thanks! It's a great recipe to work with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving yesterday and it was a huge hit. As everyone else said in their reviews, even people who don't like sweet potatoes liked this! I did cut down on the amount of sugar in both the potatoes and the topping because all I had were canned sweet potatoes and they were packed in a light syrup. I was afraid it was going to be too sweet. I used 1/2 c white sugar in the potatoes and 1/2 c brown sugar in the topping. It turned out perfect! This will be a staple at every Thanksgiving now - SO much better than the boring old marshmallow topped sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Seriously…my mother has made a similar recipe for Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s for the last 30 years—certainly a family favorite. Very, very similar except for the top layer. Every time my mother would make it, it'd be slightly different. Raisins are a standard filling, however, sometimes she’ll substitute pineapple, sliced walnuts, chocolate chips, or marshmallows. Had to come here for the recipe to surprise my family. After tasting, we all agreed it was really close, however, there should be brown sugar instead of white sugar as well as more cinnamon and butter. If you want to create an absolutely unforgettable dish add a graham cracker crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was very cood. The only thing I've changed it using coconut extract in place of the coconut flakes. This is more for personal texture preference than taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I'm the cook at our house. This was quite delicious, my wife teaches & took some to school to share with other teachers, now they want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by husbandwhocooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winterville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
fantastic! I did alter a bit. 2 eggs cause I do not know how to do 21/3 eggs and I omitted coconut/nuts from topping as my family does not care for these. I added a bit of cinnamon to sweet pot mix and also added large marshmallow toppers bout 15 min toward end of cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn Freant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was by far the hit of my Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone who came said it was not just the best sweet potatoes they've ever had, but the best side dish as well. Wonderful!! I would recommend this recipe to anyone and will definitely make them again. (I will be out of town for Christmas and my husband has requested I make this dish before I leave so that he can enjoy it on Christmas.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States