Sweet Potato Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Totally crowd pleaser - even those who said they don't like sweet potatoes. It's really like a pie without the crust and not diet food but it is sooo good. I made it in stoneware and the crust on top was amazing. Full disclosure - my daughter and I polished off the leftovers cold right out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner with the extended family, and I didn't have any leftovers! Everyone really enjoyed it. However, I made a lot of changes: (#1) 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 (#2) 1/4 cup of butter (#3) 3 egg whites (#4) 1/2 of water instead of milk (#5) Added extra Vanilla and added Cinnamon For the topping: (#1) Removed coconut flakes (#2) used 1/3 cup of gluten free flour (#3) 3/4 cup of brown sugar (#4) 1/4 cup of butter (#5) Added more vanilla and cinnamon I feel these changes helped to cut out on the fat and sugar a little bit, leaving more as a side dish instead of a dessert. I'm sure it tasted just as delicious as the origina recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for the first time. I didn't think MY sweet potatoes could get any better. W-E-E-E-L-L-L I was dead WRONG! This casserole was the BEST! My husband (who in 30 yrs of marriage) has NEVER liked sweet potatoes, tried this and LOVED IT!! It's just 2 of us, so I scaled it down to 4 servings. I kinda winged it with measurements, omitted the coconut (only because I didn't have any) and added a dash of cinnamon to the potatoes. Give this a try. You won't be disappointed! Thank You so much for sharing this, Ricki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Yummy and can be made gluten free! I have a niece who is on a gluten-free diet, so I modified the recipe slightly, just deleting the flour and the coconut (ok, so coconut doesn't have gluten but I don't really like it in anything except pina coladas!). Perfect with turkey, we're now having it with our Christmas prime rib dinner. Can't wait for it to be done...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was amazing! I made it for Christmas dinner and it was better than my mom's version. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is fantastic. I made it slightly off from the recipe, as I used a bit less brown sugar, omitted the coconut (as a friend with whom I was sharing it is allergic), and used 2 eggs instead of 2 1/3. As a side note, the nuts I used were almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this dish for our Thanksgiving feast and it was a great hit. However, next time I will definitely cut way back on the sugar inside and a bit on the top too. This may become a regular dish on my family's table. And what is 1/3 egg? ... I increased the quantities to use 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My husbnd who doesn't like sweet potatoes this, so that is all I need to make this again. The dish tastes more like a dessert than a veggie so I won't make this a staple recipe but it is a great treat every once in awhile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
A family fave! So rich & filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very yummy and creamy tasting--pretty much because of all the calories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States