Sweet Potato Souffle III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This recipe turned out great after a little changes: 1) I used brown sugar in the sweet potato mixture, but not a full cup - about 1/2. 2) A HUGE time saving trick (as I was making an entire Thanksgiving dinner for 8 people) was that I used 2 packages of Ore-Ida's frozen bagged sweet potatoes (near the frozen french fries in my grocery store). Prepared them in the microwave as directed on the package instead of using fresh sweet potatoes. I'm confident no one even noticed and it saved a lot of time. 3) I also used a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and all spice in the sweet potato mix. 4) I will probably double the topping portion next time as it didn't come close to fully covering my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I love this recipe. It's like dessert and a side dish at the same time. My Aunt used to make it, and she gave me the recipe. I lost it over the years, and I am happy you shared this with us. Now she retired from cooking and I am passing on the tradition.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boiling Springs, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Everyone's favorite dish at thanksgiving, hands down. I also made a double batch to serve at a soup kitchen on christmas-- huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I did this for Thanksgiving and let me tell you big hit!!!! Before this recipe I had always hated sweet potatoes from when I was a child, no... mean NO ONE could get me to eat them....then I went to an Easter dinner and had HoneyBaked Hams Sweet Potatoe Souffle. It was good...So I decided instead paying all that money, to try and make my own. I found this one and right off the back it was my #1 recipe. I am the ultimate Sweet Potatoe cook now in my family of cooks!!!!I did a little tweaking of my own....by adding LOTS of Vanilla and more brown sugar!!!! This is also a perfect pie filling. I LOOOOVVVEEEEEE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Sweet yummy goodness!!! Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this recipe for the second time this Thanksgiving. It was again a huge hit! I reduce the sugar amount by 1/2...and because the topping is packed with brown sugar, it has enough sweetness. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
i made a few changes as i made it... first of all i wouldn't call it a souffle more like a sweet potato casserole and that was fine by me as i had to transport it and rewarm it so it worked wonderfully!!! i did cut the sugar content to just over 1/2 cup on the white sugar. On the topping i used light brown sugar and i am so glad i did as it turned dark enough after cooking and very sweet...to me a little too sweet but i was told i was wrong by the rest of my guests they loved it!! i also can not have flour so i adjusted the top to delete the flour and just added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and it was wonderful the top almost carmelized and it was great!!! everyone wanted this recipe when i was done and left overs it does make alot but there wasn't much for left overs and it rewarms up great!!! will remake this every year!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I've had this version several times, always delicious! This was my first year to make it, very easy! Yum - oohhh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I love this recipe. I make it with butternut squash, so that I can get my kids to eat winter squash. I have tried other souffle that have so much sugar in them, this doesn't need as much, and the vanilla helps alot in that regard. I have also added a little nutmeg, and cloves to this recipe, too. Makes it taste kind of like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckacarr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Made for Thanksgiving. You really have to like sweet potatoes. Thought I would try something new for my children to try, but they still do not like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States