Sweet Potato Souffle III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I really liked the flavor and light texture of this. I followed someone's suggestion of separating the eggs and whipping the egg whites until stiff. I will make this again, However, I will decrease both the amount of white sugar in the main recipe and the brown sugar in the topping, as it was Wayy too sweet and felt like I was serving dessert right alongside my garlic mashed potatoes. ~ZZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greeneyezz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I've made this two years in a row and it's the one dish on the table that people specifically mention is really delicious. And it really is! The nut topping is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
so easy and soooo good. I didn't alter it at all, except to 1/2 the portions. Even my daughter who is a notorious picky eater tasted and loved this! will def be making this a regular holiday dish! Thanks so much for a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHCAMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
My kids love when I stick a few marshmallows into the mixture before baking. It makes the souffle so creamy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I have made this for Thanksgiving every year since I first tried it. I have brought into the office and for potluck dishes and everyone wanted the recipe! Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This recipe is divine! I made this for my family and they loved it! I highly recommend this one! I will be making this one as a side dish with our Christmas Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyW1205

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This recipe turned out great after a little changes: 1) I used brown sugar in the sweet potato mixture, but not a full cup - about 1/2. 2) A HUGE time saving trick (as I was making an entire Thanksgiving dinner for 8 people) was that I used 2 packages of Ore-Ida's frozen bagged sweet potatoes (near the frozen french fries in my grocery store). Prepared them in the microwave as directed on the package instead of using fresh sweet potatoes. I'm confident no one even noticed and it saved a lot of time. 3) I also used a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and all spice in the sweet potato mix. 4) I will probably double the topping portion next time as it didn't come close to fully covering my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I love this recipe. It's like dessert and a side dish at the same time. My Aunt used to make it, and she gave me the recipe. I lost it over the years, and I am happy you shared this with us. Now she retired from cooking and I am passing on the tradition.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boiling Springs, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Everyone's favorite dish at thanksgiving, hands down. I also made a double batch to serve at a soup kitchen on christmas-- huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I did this for Thanksgiving and let me tell you big hit!!!! Before this recipe I had always hated sweet potatoes from when I was a child, no... mean NO ONE could get me to eat them....then I went to an Easter dinner and had HoneyBaked Hams Sweet Potatoe Souffle. It was good...So I decided instead paying all that money, to try and make my own. I found this one and right off the back it was my #1 recipe. I am the ultimate Sweet Potatoe cook now in my family of cooks!!!!I did a little tweaking of my own....by adding LOTS of Vanilla and more brown sugar!!!! This is also a perfect pie filling. I LOOOOVVVEEEEEE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States