Sweet Potato Souffle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Out of five different recipes I made on Thanksgiving this is the one people requested the recipe for. I think I used Yams instead of Sweet Potato but the result was still popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was absolutely delectable! My only change was substituting maple syrup for the white sugar because as a Canadian I need to use maple syrup in sweet potato recipes. I used 3/4 cup maple syrup plus 1/4 cup cane sugar since maple syrup is not as sweet as white sugar. I was worried about the consistency with all the extra liquid but everything turned out fine. I received many compliments even from people who never give compliments so be prepared... We ate the leftovers cold and it was even MORE delicious than at the Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I've made this twice, the first time I used fresh sweet potatos and made the recipes exactly like it called. The souffle was a bit runny. The second time I used canned, and reduced the vanilla and it came out perfect!! This dish is absolutly fantastic!! Thank You so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This dish is delicious! I took the advice of other reviewers and decreased the amount of sugar mixed with the sweet potatoes by half. Next time I make this dish, I would leave out the white sugar COMPLETELY. I have a sweet tooth, and even for me...with the decreased sugar, it was too sweet. I would also add another cup of mashed sweet potato, and/or a touch of evaporated milk for richness. The brown sugar/coconut topping, to me, is the star here! I absolutely loved it! I consider this to be a solid recipe as it's good on it's own, and can be altered easily to adjust for different tastes. Thanks SO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETYBLKGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Thanks I thought it was pretty good, definitly making this again... more nuts not so much sugar though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My aunt has made this for years. We call it sweet potato casserole. I have made it several times now. It is wonderful! You could eat it as a dessert. We always use 3- 15oz canned yams (brand name yams). We also use 1 stick of butter (use real butter), 1/2 cup of white sugar and cinnamon to taste. The topping is thick, so you'll have to spread it(not sprinkle). It is definitely a recipe your family will beg you to bring every holiday dinner and then fight over who will get the last serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was sooooooo good...My hubby doesn't like sweet potatoes, and he just couldn't get enough of this. Hours after dinner I see him in the living room munching on the leftovers of this wonderful dish, with coolwhip on top, and glass of Milk. This will defintely be served in our house again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Excellent...I was looking for a receipe similar to my mother's souffle and found this one to be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Outstanding recipe! My friends and family love it when I make this. I did leave out the coconut (don't like it) and I used pecans and walnuts for the topping. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States