Sweet Potato Souffle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Yum, yum, yum! Everyone loved this! I can't eat walnuts so omitted those and used oats in their place. I also cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and added cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves due to other reviewer suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
My family has never like sweet potatoes until they had this version! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was a good recipe, although next time I will follow the recipe vs. taking advice from others. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup as suggested & added more sweet potatoes (5 cups) and it just wasn't as tasty as I think it could've been. Luckily I had made a traditional sweet potato casserole and I ended up mixing the two & it was too die for!! Next time...I will do everything the recipe calls for and add mini marshmellows to the top when it's done to broil for 2 minutes. It will be fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Sooo yummy. Even my husband who isn't fond of sweet potatoes loved it! I baked the sweet potatoes first and scooped out the inside using some of the skin. You won't be disappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I microwaved fresh sweet potatoes and used the mixer to "mash" them. This was a wonderful,easy recipe that I will incorporate into every holiday meal!! I used 1/2 brown sugar/ 1/2 white sugar and substitued pecans for walnuts-what a dish!I suggest before adding any spices-try the recipe as is first- and tweak it later according to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
DELICIOUS! I made this for T-giving dinner yesterday and it was a hit. The coconut topping with its added crunch and flavor was a great twist on the traditional sweet potato dish. To save time, and as suggested in a previous review, I used 3 cans(15 oz each) of canned yams in place of having to cook the sweet potatoes myself. Everything else was as instructed on recipe. Yes, it was sweet like dessert, but IMO, it was not TOO sweet. Will definitely be on my holiday table every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I used pecans instead of walnuts, but hey, I'm from the south and the natural choice is pecans. Have done this recipe a couple of times now and contrary to some of the other reviews I haven't found it to be too sweet, in fact, it hasn't turned out to be nearly as sweet as I had thought it would be. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was fabulous. I didn't change a thing, except for substituting pecans for the walnuts. I baked 3 sweet potatoes for 1 hour to make the 3 cups. The coconut was an unexpectedly nice addition. I hope to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this for our family Thanksgiving dinner and this was the star of the dinner. People couldn't stop talking about it and kept asking for the recipe. They said one difference was using real sweet potatoes instead of canned. It was wonderful, and definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I can't give it a perfect 5 because I didn't make the recipe as is. However, after using the tips in the reviews, I would give it rave reviews. I made it for the T-giving Potluck at work yesterday and people liked it and asked for the recipe. Changes: did not add any sugar to the sweet potato mixture, added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I din't use coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States