Sweet Potato Souffle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Cutting the butter back to 1/3 stick of butter in place of the 1/3 cup of butter works better for me both in the mixture and the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The only changes I made were: I omitted the coconut, and added a dash of cinnamon. The nuts I used were pecans. I scaled this recipe down to half, (there's only 2 of us). Other than that, I followed recipe to a T. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I made this recipe and it was great. The texture color and flavor were perfect. I did a small change and it was that for the top i convine everything at once and did not melted the butter. It helped me a great deal and it cooked wonderful. One thing is that i use it as a dessert everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Mr. Heronemus, I deeply appreciate your sharing this delightful recipe. Thanks to you, I made it for Thanksgiving and everybody, without exception, just loved it. I have become a fan of yours and will look and try other recipes that you may have published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I've used this recipe for 35 years and its always a hit. I've added raisins to the yam mixture before. I also add a little cinnamon and nutmeg. I've also used the canned or fresh yams. Both are great. If I'm in a hurry I'll buy the individually wrapped microwaveable yams so in 10-12 minutes fresh yams are ready. I've also cooked fresh yams overnight on low heat in my crockpot. This is an easy way to free up the oven and have the yams readily available. It also helps the yams maintain moisture. Especially if you add 1/4 cup of water into the crockpot. This recipe is also good with apples or pears instead of yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
It's delicious, my kids all love it. I have made it exactly as the the recipe states, and I've also made it using less sugar (1/2 cup, and I used brown instead of white) and less butter (1/4 cup) and it was still excellent. The topping is good, although it makes way too much. If you don't happen to have coconut on hand, I have used oatmeal instead; both are good. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Absolutely the BEST sweet potato recipe ever! I tripled the recipe for a family gathering.....not a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
It was too sweet and had too much butter for my taste. The reason I gave it four stars is because I really liked the topping recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I give this 4 stars because it looks like it would be way too sweet for me, but i did change the recipe quite a bit and would give that version 5 stars. I cut the sugar WAY back- only about a tablespoon of white sugar and 1 tablespoon of brown sugar for the topping. Also cut the butter to about 2 Tbsps. I added cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. Turned out great! Much healthier and less like a dessert, but very flavorful with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Huge hit at thxgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States