Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by asmaa
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe a lots of times, the result is fabulous wonderful sweet bread, but make sure to let it rest enough time to rise, the only thing i do sometime is add 1 TBS of sugar as I like it sweet, and recently I substitute the regular sweet potato with purple sweet potato, and yes it does work perfect and my kids were so happy and excited to see a natural colored bread ! Defiantly a keeper .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I used slightly more fresh sweet potato, a heaping 1/2 cup I'd say. I also used 1/4 cup brown sugar as another reviewer suggested. These were great! Oh, I also added cinnamon and cloves and possibly ginger, 1/4 tsp each. They were delicious smelling and tasty! I think the spices bring out the flavor of the sweet potato. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made these for the first time today. Recipe is super easy and the rolls came out very fluffy. BUT, not a huge amount of sweet potato flavor even though I used fresh sweet potatoes. I think next time I'll add about a 1/4 cup more and see what that gives me for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. I use leftover sweet potatoes and follow the recipe exactly and the rolls turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Not sure what I was expecting, I wasn't really wanting an overpowering taste of sweet potato that I'm sure of. Anyway, not much of sweet potato flavor in these just kind of an odd flavor (not bad) just odd. I prefer regular potato rolls really. I might try using baked sweet potato in them sometime as others suggest maybe that would bring somewhat of a richer flavor and deeper color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
As I read through all the reviews I'm noticing one big problem - everyone is using triple the amount of sweet potato that the recipe calls for and therefore has to use more flour. If you follow the recipe, as is, with just 1/2 cup of sweet potato then flour shouldn't be an issue. I only needed 3 cups of flour for mine and they turned out soft, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I've made these dozens of times now. I do add a couple of tablespoons of gluten. (I know, but love the rise!) I also always use bread flour. Have used whole wheat flour and bread flour mix. Often put in flax seed meal. Every once and a while, I'll reduce the flour a bit and put oatmeal in for a totally different texture. Always use butter as I am not a fan of margarine at all. I've had quite a bit of fun with this recipe and love the color, taste, and texture. Follow the directions exactly (well, except for do use bread flour and real butter) and you will get a splendid roll. Then keep tweaking to your heart's content to suit your fancy. I've never had a bad tasting batch of rolls come out of this no matter what I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I put 3 stars only because my rolls came out sorta heavy and I like a more fluffier roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
these were good. but better the second time after freezing and reheating. i also probably needed to add a little more water because my rolls were pretty lumpy. i would definitely make them again to perfect my technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Only one word to describe these beauties.DIVINE. :) Thanks so much for the new family favorite Sherlie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States