Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made these last night up to the stage where I formed the rolls. Then I refrigerated them overnight, let them rise about 1 1/2 hrs. this morning, and baked them. They came out beautifully. I didn't use the canned sweet potato, I microwaved 2 sweet potatoes and whiped them up to use in place of the canned. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. Thanks, Sherlie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
These were very good. I replaced the sweet potato with mashed pumpkin because it was what I had on hand. Sadly, I could not detect any pumpkin taste, but it did give the rolls a beautiful color and texture. As made, I would only give these 4 stars, but I will allow that using sweet potatoes might have made the difference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made these using fresh mashed sweet potato. I also used half whole wheat flour (I need four cups of flour total). They turned out nice and fluffy, but I didn't find there was much sweet potato flavour, or a lot of flavour period for that matter. I will try again and add more sweet potato and some cinnamon and nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These were super good! I used 2 roasted, mashed sweet potatoes instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were great! I made them for little leftover turkey sanwiches :) The only change I made was to use fresh sweet potato puree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These rolls were fluffy but filling. The sweet potato didn't add an overpowering flavor, which we liked. I am a novice bread maker, so I was afraid to add too much extra flour to the dough and, as a result, shaping my rolls was very difficult and they did not look very pretty in the end. Next time I will not be so timid with the extra flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I did not do a good job of following the directions on this and they still turned out great. I had so much going on that I let the dough rise overnight and then after I rolled it into balls it sat so long that they way more than doubled in side and I kept trying to "punch them down" to keep them from completely blowing up. The dough was also really sticky and I was really not counting on much...they baked beautifully though and we loved them. My kids (3 and 5) really love them. If I did that much wrong and the still tasted good, I'm impressed! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very good dinner roll, however I used a real mashed sweet potato and the roll wasn't very sweet. Next time I will use a sweet yam instead and maybe go with some brown sugar and a little spice. Still a good roll though and this was my first time making a yeast roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
So easy, I did add 1 tsp. nutmeg and used fresh sweet potato's. Rolled the dough out into 3 circles and made them in the shape of cresent rolls. Put a dz. in the freezer for Thanksgiving next week. Nice way to get some veggies into ppl., like hubby, who shies away from all veggies except the white potato. Thanks for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Delicious. I made this for our Recipe Pioneers Group and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States