Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made these for the first time today. Recipe is super easy and the rolls came out very fluffy. BUT, not a huge amount of sweet potato flavor even though I used fresh sweet potatoes. I think next time I'll add about a 1/4 cup more and see what that gives me for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. I use leftover sweet potatoes and follow the recipe exactly and the rolls turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Not sure what I was expecting, I wasn't really wanting an overpowering taste of sweet potato that I'm sure of. Anyway, not much of sweet potato flavor in these just kind of an odd flavor (not bad) just odd. I prefer regular potato rolls really. I might try using baked sweet potato in them sometime as others suggest maybe that would bring somewhat of a richer flavor and deeper color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
As I read through all the reviews I'm noticing one big problem - everyone is using triple the amount of sweet potato that the recipe calls for and therefore has to use more flour. If you follow the recipe, as is, with just 1/2 cup of sweet potato then flour shouldn't be an issue. I only needed 3 cups of flour for mine and they turned out soft, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I've made these dozens of times now. I do add a couple of tablespoons of gluten. (I know, but love the rise!) I also always use bread flour. Have used whole wheat flour and bread flour mix. Often put in flax seed meal. Every once and a while, I'll reduce the flour a bit and put oatmeal in for a totally different texture. Always use butter as I am not a fan of margarine at all. I've had quite a bit of fun with this recipe and love the color, taste, and texture. Follow the directions exactly (well, except for do use bread flour and real butter) and you will get a splendid roll. Then keep tweaking to your heart's content to suit your fancy. I've never had a bad tasting batch of rolls come out of this no matter what I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I put 3 stars only because my rolls came out sorta heavy and I like a more fluffier roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
these were good. but better the second time after freezing and reheating. i also probably needed to add a little more water because my rolls were pretty lumpy. i would definitely make them again to perfect my technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Only one word to describe these beauties.DIVINE. :) Thanks so much for the new family favorite Sherlie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
The consitency of the rolls were good, and they looked nice. However, there wasn't much flavor to these rolls. After making them as the recipe called, I wished I had taken heed to some of the reviews and made alterations to the recipe. I definitely didn't taste the sweet potato, but overall the recipe is just OK to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Nice and moist with a hint of sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States