Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Prepared the dough in my bread machine. I used 1/4 cup honey instead of the sugar. Microwaved and mashed my sweet potatos - used close to 2 cups. Added about 1/2 cup extra flour and then a few Tbs of orange juice when I decided the mix was a little dry. The dough was more sticky than I expected, but handled okay when I floured my hands and counter. They were AWESOME! 8 adults for dinner nearly wiped out the whole batch. I served with jambalya and the slightly sweet, light rolls were a perfect match to the spicy, heavy rice dish. I will absolutely make again - probably next for Easter dinner with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Used the recipe for pizza dough! Cut it by 1/3 so I could use my 2-cup bread machine; used 1 cup mashed sweet potatoes and omitted the eggs. Dough was sticky, slightly runny, but poured it out onto pizza stone and spread it w/ a spatula. Topped the dough with several spoonfuls of spaghetti sauce and 1 bag of rinsed, frozen veggies; as the whole thing was generally wet, I pre-baked it (just stuck it in the oven while the oven was preheating to 450 degrees). Once the crust had started to crisp just a bit, I added several handfuls of shredded mozzarella and returned to oven for about 20 minutes. Raised beautifully, tasted superb. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! These are so good the rolls are very moist,soft,tasty You can even taste the sweet potato I only made 1/2 of the recipe and hear what I used 1/2 can of sweet potatoes ,1 1/4 cup of whole wheat,1/2 cup of white flour plus some to knead about 1/4 of a cup,3 tablespoons of brown suger,1 1/2 teaspoons of yeast,1 teaspoon of cinnamon,1/4 of nutmeg,1/2 tablespoons wheat germ, 1 tablespoon of golden milled flax seed,3tablespoone of margarine,1/2 teaspoon of salt,1egg, 1/4 cup of warm water and last 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and I did everything by hand. I will be making these rolls every other sunday. This was my first time having sweet potato rolls and I loved them so much even my 3 year old loved them the HB like anything I cook so Thanks for you post Terry137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
WOW! These rolls are very moist. You can't even taste the sweet potato so your kids will never know that they are good for you, you'll just have to explain the orange color. The dough is sticky and messy to work with but worth the trouble. I used half wheat flour and half white. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
this recipe is superb... you may have to allow a bit more time for the rolls to rise but they are fluffy and delightful... the sweet potato taste is not too overwhelming for those who do not like sweet potatoes... i've made these over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fanaticbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Del Sisters
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I was a little leary on how my family would like these, but I made them anyway! They were so yummy and moist! I did make a few changes though: 1. I used cinnamon sugar instread of regular. It gave it a little sweeter. flavor, almost like challah bread. 2.I added 1T. of wheat gluten. 3.I used all wheat flour. 4. My 13x9in pan could only fit 15 so that's how many I made. 5.After they came out, I brushed them with butter. Yum! Hannah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Del Sisters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I have the pickiest 6 year old to ever eat a meal and he LOVED these!!! We didn't tell him there was SP in them until he had polished off 4. He then seemed quite proud that he had eatn SP's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DisneyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Great rolls served warm with maple butter! It did require a lot more flour--a great tip found by reading the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Fresh from the oven with real butter these were close to heaven. I cheated and used the kitchenaid mixer so that actually they were a breeze to make. I also used fresh boiled sweetpotatos and more flour than called for. Much more, I ended up using close to six cups. Needless to say I ended up with nearly 40 good sized rolls, not 18, which was fine since I fed 16 people this thanksgiving. Really easy, really good, and even picky I-hate-sweet-potatos grandkids scarfed them down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Followed recipe exactly and turned out wonderful. Very earthy/rustic, now a Thanksgiving dinner must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyrichards

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States