Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Excellant! These are so-o-o easy and work every time for me(and that is saying alot). My husband and father especially love them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
These were good - a great earthy flavor. Do need to work on the flour ratio... VERY sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is a marvelous recipe. The rolls were superb. Tender, fluffy, barely sweet. Very easy. I used butter, boiled sweet potatos, and used the water from the cooking to proof the yeast. As others have noted, it takes a good deal more flour than three cups, more like five or six, and it made 24 very big rolls. Got rave reviews from the family and even the picky kids were asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Whoa- I made a bad mistake! I couldn't find any canned "pureed" sweet potatoes but I did find canned yams and candied yams. I went with the candied yams b/c of other reviews that added sugar. I kept everything else the same. They came out great but taste very strange. Almost like they have liquor in them? Anyway, I will try again with plain yams. (BTW, I just put them in the food processor)Also- it took a little over an hour to rise and about an hour for them to double. So be prepared for a little time invested. Also- cooked mine in two 8" round pans, for 15 minutes. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenhere

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Rolls were good. Soft, and a good consistency. I found a couple things I would change. It needs a little more flour to ensure the dough isn't sticky after it rises. Also, I didn't taste much sweet potato in the cooked bread, and I felt like the overall recipe was missing something. Maybe salt? Maybe sugar? I topped put honey butter, and it actually tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These rolls were very good. The dough was sticky and hard at times to form the rolls but I dipped the pieces in a little flour before forming rolls and that did the trick. Dispite the little trouble forming them, the rolls were very tastey and worth it. They were very easy to make. I reduced the sugar to 2 TBS and used butter instead of margarine. I also used fresh sweet potato. I will definitely make again as these were one of the best rolls I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
well, i was somewhat disappointed with how my rolls came out after reading everyone's reviews. mine turned out heavy and a little dry. the dough was sooooooo sticky, very frustrating! in total, i probably used about 4 1/2 c. of flour. i was expecting "flaky, light" rolls like everyone else. oh well, you win some, you lose some! but i'm not gonna try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
if your using fresh sweet potatoes, be sure to mash them VERY WELL they were ok..but not something i would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
These were tasty....my only complaint is that they were a bit dry. I would make them again and try to fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Prepared the dough in my bread machine. I used 1/4 cup honey instead of the sugar. Microwaved and mashed my sweet potatos - used close to 2 cups. Added about 1/2 cup extra flour and then a few Tbs of orange juice when I decided the mix was a little dry. The dough was more sticky than I expected, but handled okay when I floured my hands and counter. They were AWESOME! 8 adults for dinner nearly wiped out the whole batch. I served with jambalya and the slightly sweet, light rolls were a perfect match to the spicy, heavy rice dish. I will absolutely make again - probably next for Easter dinner with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States