Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
These don't taste too sweet potatoey but they are some of the moistest, softest, fluffiest, tastiest rolls I've ever made. Love them. I cut the recipe in half but still used 3 cups flour. I used canned sweet potatoes (not puree) and pureed them with the egg, sugar, etc in the blender. Added the flour and yeast mixture in the mixer, mixed until incorporated and then switched to the dough hook to kneed for a few minutes. Even my husband likes them and he hates bread. I'll definitely make these again. probably next week. :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a very adaptable recipe, I just wish the ratios of flour and sugar were corrected. I used 2 T of honey instead of 4 T white sugar since I was looking to make a wholesome sandwich bread without any sweetness. I also ended up using 4 1/2 to 5c. whole wheat flour (Golden Buffalo flour to e exact - you can find it in the bulk section of many natural foods stores/co-ops). I used vegetable oil rather than margarine, and added 1/4c+2T ground flax meal for added nutrition. Rather than rolls, I made loaves of bread. One recipe (using the 4 1/2 c. flour) makes 2 standard sandwich loaves. You don't need to let the loaves rise as much as you would think because the eggs make it puff in the oven. I live at 4000 feet elevation, and baked the loaves at 375F for 25 minutes. The flavor is subtle, light, slightly-earthy, and DELICIOUS. It toasts really well too! I will definitely be making this again, but with whatever sweet-orange vegetable is in season: pumpkin, butternut squash, carrots, maybe even sweet corn...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I tried this recipe with pumpkin substituted for the sweet potatoes. It was wonderful. I did use some additional flour. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
These were very very good. I didn't have sweet potatoes so I used acorn squash instead. The dough is indeed very sticky and I ended up having to use additional flour but they still turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was a really good recipe. I used real sweet potato (yam) and demerara sugar. I used a 50:50 of ww flour and apf. The dough was really, really soft and moist, I used almost 2cups of dusting flour when kneading. So I think next time I'll just use more flour in the original recipe. I think they needed the full 20mins baking time, but I took mine out after 15mins (I'll go the full time the next time I try them.) The true test was the next day, the rolls were still soft and delicious. I will make these again, and try to substitute the butter this time to see how they turn out. Excellent use of sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
People loved these when I made them, but I'm not sure I completely loved them. I may make again, but they are not something I could get addicted to. The sweet potato has an "after taste", as well as I can explain it, but many people like that taste - it's probably what makes this unique. Try it, you may love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great tasting bread. I had to use a lot more flour than what the recipe called for but other than that it had a great flavor. My family definately loved this one. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My family LOVED this recipe. I am the roll maker for holidays and this year I tried this recipe and it was a huge hit. I had many requests to make it again for Christmas so here I am making them again! I ended up using about three more cups of flower than called for and ended up making around 48 rolls with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I was awed by how pretty and tasty these were. I expected a sweet potato taste but was shocked that there was not one and the texture of these rolls were so fluffy that I don't think I can go back to my old bread recipes anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States