Sweet Potato Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Wow -- this was great! My kids helped make it and gobbled it up. I halved the butter and sugar, and it still came out tasting plenty sweet. I might even cut the butter and sugar to a fourth and serve it as a side dish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. However, I thought it was a little too bland so I made some modifications. I added - - 2 overripe bananas - 2 tablespoons of cinnamon - 1 tablespoon of nutmeg I thought the bananas really accented the orange juice nicely. You can def. taste it in every bit so don't use, if you don't like banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to imitate what I had as a child where the sides were crunchy and the pudding was thick enough to hold in one's hand, like a brownie. This wasn't it, but it was still good. I didn't have juice so I used 1 cup water and 1 tablespoon orange extract. I also used 1 tablespoon vanilla because I like to taste my flavors. This was a good dish served warm, alone or with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
It's missing the "Wow Factor" for us. It was bland, even after I followed the suggestion to add cinnamon. For me, the orange juice was weird, because I could taste it in every btie. I will try to make it again, but will follow other suggestions of adding nutmeg and all spice, and maybe cut back on the O.J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I added mini marshmallows to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is a really nice side dish, although it would have been nice if it were a bit more creamy. I cut the sugars to 1/2 c. each and the butter (I used oil) to 1/4. I also added 1 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I've already gotten three requests to make this again for Turkey day. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I think I outdid grandma's recipes for the first time with this one!!!! I got rave reviews!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I love this dish but for health reasons I did a few things different. I boiled the potatoes first, then skinned them (the skins come off easier that way). I substitued Splenda for the white sugar and added 1/3 cup brown sugar. I also mixed in walnuts and used egg subsitute instead of the real things. For butter I used a Heart Smart brand of butter that really did taste like butter but was made largely with olive oil. The only thing I did allow for us was the miniature marshmellows but not too many. We ate this stuff like it was going out of style and we didn't feel bad afterward. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
When I tasted this before cooking, I found the flavor to be rather thin and unremarkable. So I added: molasses, lots of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and a smidge of rum. With these additions, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States