Sweet Potato Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. However, I thought it was a little too bland so I made some modifications. I added - - 2 overripe bananas - 2 tablespoons of cinnamon - 1 tablespoon of nutmeg I thought the bananas really accented the orange juice nicely. You can def. taste it in every bit so don't use, if you don't like banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to imitate what I had as a child where the sides were crunchy and the pudding was thick enough to hold in one's hand, like a brownie. This wasn't it, but it was still good. I didn't have juice so I used 1 cup water and 1 tablespoon orange extract. I also used 1 tablespoon vanilla because I like to taste my flavors. This was a good dish served warm, alone or with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
It's missing the "Wow Factor" for us. It was bland, even after I followed the suggestion to add cinnamon. For me, the orange juice was weird, because I could taste it in every btie. I will try to make it again, but will follow other suggestions of adding nutmeg and all spice, and maybe cut back on the O.J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I added mini marshmallows to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is a really nice side dish, although it would have been nice if it were a bit more creamy. I cut the sugars to 1/2 c. each and the butter (I used oil) to 1/4. I also added 1 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I've already gotten three requests to make this again for Turkey day. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I think I outdid grandma's recipes for the first time with this one!!!! I got rave reviews!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I love this dish but for health reasons I did a few things different. I boiled the potatoes first, then skinned them (the skins come off easier that way). I substitued Splenda for the white sugar and added 1/3 cup brown sugar. I also mixed in walnuts and used egg subsitute instead of the real things. For butter I used a Heart Smart brand of butter that really did taste like butter but was made largely with olive oil. The only thing I did allow for us was the miniature marshmellows but not too many. We ate this stuff like it was going out of style and we didn't feel bad afterward. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
When I tasted this before cooking, I found the flavor to be rather thin and unremarkable. So I added: molasses, lots of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and a smidge of rum. With these additions, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I liked it, but it was far too sweet and became very clumpy. Don't know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States