Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This is one of the best pound cakes I've ever tasted or made. Used 2 1/2 cups of mashed canned sweet potatoes (1 40oz can) and sweetened it with a little brown sugar, extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Used a pineapple glaze instead of orange. A delicious soft, moist masterpiece. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
This cake is marvelous. I can't keep it around long enough. I changed the flour to cake flour and it is even better. It's a real hit with my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is an excellent cake. I made the recipe as written & it could not have been more perfect. Great texture and wonderful flavor (slightly milder & less dense than pumpkin). I pureed the sweet potato rather than mashing it, and I only had to bake my cake for about an hour. I am a pastry chef & am very fussy about my cakes, and I will be using this one again. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This cake is awesome! I used Bruce's canned mashed sweet potatoes (just sweet potatoes - no additional ingredients) instead of cooking and mashing fresh sweet potatoes. It has been a hit every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This cake was DELICIOUS! But I recommend using cake flour instead of all-purpose. It tastes a 1000% better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this for a ladies luncheon. While I enjoyed it immensely and thought it was great, not one of the ladies asked for the recipe, which is highly unusual for them. Instead of the glaze, I frosted it with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting from this website, and it was very attractive. I found that the cake only needed to bake 1 hour and 5 minutes in my oven. Good thing I checked it then instead of letting it bake the entire hour and 20 minutes or I would have had a burnt cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I'm an avid baker and this one is a keeper! Perfect for Thanksgiving or Christmas or any other time you want a moist, spiced cake that smells heavenly. I used fresh sweet potatoes and everyone was so impressed with the taste. I think I'll add raisins to the mix next time to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELKEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This cake was dry and not very tasty. I was embarrassed when everyone tried it at the luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGERLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This was a delicious recipe. I used the cake flour as recommended by other reviewers. I also did not need to bake it for the full 1 hr. 20 min. -- went about 55 minutes and it was well done. I will definitely make this again, perhaps bake for about 5 minutes less. Tastes like a spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Since I just learned how to use my kitchen, I am always looking for easy recipes for food days at work. THIS IS IT! I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh to save time. Friends and family all want this recipe. Take it from me, I currently have an icky mess in my kitchen that was supposed to be fudge. I will stick to this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States