Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I will give this 4 starts because I changed the glaze to my own recipe consisting of powdered sugar, syrup from canned yams, vanilla, cinnamon and water. I love this recipes and so does my whole family. I will definately make it again for the holidays. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
09/07/10 - I made this again for a Labor Day barbeque and also made cinnamon whipped cream topping with cinnamon oil that just made this pound cake sing. I also used slightly more sweet potato and added some vanilla yogurt and an additional egg. I dusted the pan with a cinnamon/sugar blend instead of flour before placing in the oven to bake. This cake is just wonderful, flavorful and an elegant dessert. 07/15/10 I make large batches of homemade dog food twice a month and sweet potatoes is a key ingredient so I always have cooked sweet potato on hand. I made this last night and with two people in the household only 1/2 of the cake is left today. Great moist, dense and flavorful cake. Loved this, wonderful flavor and great color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I don't fare so well in the kitchen, so I was leary to attempt this. It is delicious! My family devoured it and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Urquhart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I had 4 cups of leftover mashed sweet potatoes, so doubled the recipe and made one bundt cake and 8 mini loaves... so good & moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious! I made a different glaze for the cake. I used confectioner's sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, and water. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This recipe is also another keeper! I used 1 cup of sugar instead of two, and I used freshly ground cinnamon. It tasted wonderful! It almost tasted like a pumpkin bread. Next time I want to try different glazes just to experiment but this cake was quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent. I served it for Easter and the orange color and flavor were nice and springy. SECOND TIME AROUND: Still wanting more orange flavor, I halved each of the spices and substituted Grand Marnier for the vanilla--very good; less "spice cakey" and more orange. THIRD TIME: left out all the spices called for and used 1 1/2 t cardamom and again, the Grand Marnier instead of vanilla. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I liked it very much esp with the glaze cuz I like my cakes to be sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Fantastic! The lightly orange speckled dough remained incredibly moist despite me kinda burning it!!LOL (I will definately not burn my next one)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Excellent ... used fresh, boiled sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States