Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This cake is INCREDIBLE. I used cake flour and added a little brown sugar to my mashed sweet potatoes. I also put chopped pecans in the bottom of the pan before adding the cake mix. I'm sure the orange glaze would've been great however I opted for a brown sugar glaze which was the perfect topping for this moist delicious cake. Even the batter is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was delicious and very easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very moist pound cake. I used cake flour and cut back the sugar to 1 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup granulated sugar. I made 3 loaves and 6 muffins out of this recipe. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tweeted this recipe by using cooked yams that I made and I add coconut..my husband and everyone loves my cake. Thank you for the recipe. For those who don't like this recipe, you did something wrong, this is an excellent sweet potato cake recipe...Kuddos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stellar Asia

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Simple, light, delicious! A little dry, but that might just be my baking time (I lost track and left it in for an extra 10 minutes). It doesn't have much cinnamon taste, and I did add an extra teaspoon, but I think that's totally up to you on how spiced up you want a pound cake to be. I think it was pretty much perfect to serve with ice cream and coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Allsup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipes makes an AMAZING cake. I do not eat sweet potatoes, but my sister and boyfriend do. I made them both a cake using this recipe and they were in heaven. During the process of making it, it smelled SOOOO delicious I had to try it and I was amazed sweet potatoes could be so tantalizing as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I just baked this cake. It is absolutely delicious!! I am an avid baker and this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
awesome pound cake! I like extra spice, so I added 2 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1, and 1/4 tsp of ground cloves. I also added 3/4 cup of ground walnuts. I'm lazy so for the glaze I used dulce de leche from a jar. My husband and daughter loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKUNEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I took this cake to a Mother's Day get together yesterday and everyone loved it. I used canned sweet potatoes and cake flour as others suggested. I will definitely make this again. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was more of a regular cake than a pound cake texture. It was good - not great. Mine was just slightly overdone at 62 minutes. I should have taken it out sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States