Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This cake was easy to make, delicious and very moist. I prepared this cake for Christmas and several family members requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Fantastic! Very bright flavors, very moist! I only had canned yams on hand, and they did very well. This recipe also worked well at my altitude (Denver, CO), which is nice, some things don't turn out well unless you tweak the leaveners a bit. I served it with a home made whipped cream that I flavored with orange zest and cinnamon. Happy baking, all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe is awesome, just made it today. The cake turned out great! The only thing I did differently was add 2 1/2 cups of sweet potatoes instead of 2. I also cut the baking time down by approximately 10 minutes because I used a seasoned stone bundt pan. This will definitely be one of my go to desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I too just like Ngerland found this recipe to be dry and bland when I tried it. It looked very presentable, but the product was dissatisfying and lost its steam fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe but watch the bake time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made it exactly like the recipe said, everyone loved it! "Super moist", "not too sweet", "really sweet potato? So good". Light, fluffy, moist, sweet but not that I ate to much sweet cake kind of sweet. Perfect for the fall, winter, holiday season:)????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love this cake! It has become a holiday favorite with my family. I reduce the heat and baking time according to my oven/pan. Instead of baking sweet potatoes, I use a can of Bruce's baked sweet potatoes. I've finished the cake with an orange glaze, pineapple glaze, cream cheese glaze, and simple powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious! I used cake flour instead of flour and this cake was a hit. Served with whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Wow what a great cake made for thanksgiving every one was bragging about that cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A 5-star recipe that I will make again! In my opinion, a more appropriate title might be "Spice Cake with Orange Glaze". The sweet potatoes are unrecognizable in the cake and the cinnamon and nutmeg come through nicely. The texture and consistency of the cake wasn't like a pound cake to me. The orange glaze is a must, and really made the cake sing. A Thanksgiving hit; will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States