Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
as someone who DETESTS sweet potatoes, i was very skeptical when making this cake despite the good reviews. I'm glad I did. the sweet potatoes helped make it moist. I was 1/4c short of the sweet potato but had some carrot/sweet potato puree that i use to smuggle into my 4 year old's foods, and added that, and it turned out fine. As soon as she's eaten dinner, i'm going to give her a piece of this and if she eats it, it will be in my rotation. thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This cake was wonderful! My children were begging for it in their lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This cake is absolutely delicious. I made it and substituted the sweet potato with Libby's pumpkin mix, that comes in a can. My family was amazed with the moisture of this recipe and the flavor. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
i added a cup of pecans to it then it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very good recipe - potatoes whether white or sweet always make a very tender dough. I made in a bundt pan and followed the recipe. I added a streusel filling with finely chopped walnuts. I love the ribbon effect. I glazed it with a simple vanilla cinnamon glaze. Is a permanent in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I baked the cake (but I added 1 tsp of each spice) and it was simply awesome! My husband and kids devoured it! Thanks for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
pretty good.. i did add more sweet potatoes..but overall prettty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Great recipe, turned out really good. I used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/1/2 cup of regular sugar, I also used 2 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1. Great consistency and texture. I also garnished the top of cake with pecans prior to cooking and made a brown sugar glaze. I will make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I have to say I had my doubts. I'm not a fan of the sweet potato. But this is by far the best cake I've ever made. REALLY easy to make, and delicious!! My husband loves this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Use applesauce or prune puree instead of butter/oil to make this more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States