Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm going to keep trying with this recipe, since I don't think the kind of flour I used (the first time) did it any favors (whole grain pastry flour). Also, the second cake I made with this recipe, I used AP flour, and I added 2 T cocoa, an extra tsp of cinnamon, a tsp of pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. It turned out MUCH better. I like the extra spice, and the cocoa adds a little something extra I like to the flavor. I think it's a recipe worth having. I'm not an expert with cakes (I'm more of a pie girl, really), but this is a keeper. Probably some cake flour would make a huge difference, and I intend to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent pound cake. I used a little different glaze just because I had some apricot brandy i wanted to use. Quite delicious. I only bake it for an hour. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very delicious! Followed the recipe the way it was written except I may have used a bit more sweet potatoe since I wanted to use up some left over baked ones I had. Made a very moist and delicious twist on a traditional pound canke. Know this one is a keeper since the husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Really good toasted, with butter. I used some brown sugar to replace white and wound up with something browner than the photo shown here. I backed off on the butter because the sweet potatoes I used were leftovers which were already sweetened and spiced somewhat. I added addition spices and some orange zest. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Henry
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I can't believe I'm actually writing another review, but this was really good, per all the raves I got. I also did 1c. white, 1 c. brown sugar. I'm a little stingy when it comes to my real butter so I did use 1 stick butter,1 stick margerine. Bake according to what u know ur oven can do. My bundt only took 55-60 mins. Had to give quite a few saran wrapped slices away because it was toooooo dangerous to keep in the house.(Yes, that Good!) Very moist. Oh yeah, and I didn't use any glaze. This cake holds it's own. I'm already getting request for full cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heyvee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Loved the cake I cooked it for 1 hour and 10 min in my oven. I added more cinnamon, vanilla, and nutmeg to suit my taste. I also added a little ginger and a cap full of lemon extract. I omitted the glaze it really didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Absolutely beautiful. Seriously. Loved it!! So did my neighbour (she also wants to bottle the scent for an air freshener). Only changes I made was to bake in 2 loaf pans and I omitted the glaze. Fantastic!!!! Thanks for the recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Brasser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is pretty tasty. I didn't use the glaze because I didn't feel the need to add more sugar to a perfectly sweet cake. Next time I'll add a little orange zest to the cake if I omit the glaze. It was moist and had a delicate crumb. The light spice flavor is perfect with a dollop of homemade whipped cream on top. You can also bake it in two 8.5" x 4.5" loaf pans for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is the best pound cake I have ever eaten or made. I work for the military, and make it all the time for different occasions. Plus it is a request from them. Recently I bought small angel food cake pans, 6 pans all together, now we call them Sweet potato baby cakes. It is moist and wonderfully tasty. I use Bruce's sweet potatoes on this recipe, because we do not use fresh sweet potatoes at home. So whomever tried this and it did not come out good, should try the canned....excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a great, moist cake that tasted just like a pumpkin pound cake! I used canned sweet potatoes, but will try fresh baked next time! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States