Sweet Potato Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made this for a cookout and it was really popular - the dish was wiped clean. I didn't make an alterations, other than using a little more mustard than called for, because I like the heat. Paprika never goes wrong - might try that next time. The second time I made it with a little diced red pepper and that worked. My only tips are to dice the celery and red onion pretty small, squish the potato pieces a little with your hands as you put them into the bowl, and don't skimp on the mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This is a great potato salad! The only substitution I made was green onion - my kids hate biting into bits of raw, hard onion, so chopped green onions always work nicely for me. The sweet potatoes added such a nice touch, and my husband, who thinks he hates sweet potato, thought they were carrots and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I Love this Recipe! My husband is not a fan of Potato Salad and he loved it! It is tasty and easy to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I'm not crazy about sweet potato salad so I just used regular potatoes. It came out very tasty. It could probably use less mayo though. I added green, red peppers and small cut up pieces of celery. It was great everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This was definitely different but very good. I think next time I will use 2 sweet potatoes and 1 white potato for a little more of the sweet potato flavor. I loved the different colors of the salad - very appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is a great recipe. I used 2 sweet potatoes to 1 white potato. I don't cook sweet potatoes very often - just a note, don't over cook the sweet potatoes. They cook faster than white potatoes and can get pretty mushy! I also omitted the eggs. Excellent dressing on the salad. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I didn't have any eggs on hand & this salad was still great - with eggs I'm sure even better! I found it easier to largely cube the potatoes before boiling, then they only needed twenty minutes cooking time & were all set to toss in the mayo mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
this recipe is a lovely change from normal, heavy potato salad. Was flavorful and interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I wasn't too sure about this recipe at first, but it turned out really good. I wasn't sure about the sweet potato egg combination, but it is really good. I did cut the salt and pepper in half, I am glad I did it would have been way to peppery for my taste. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
My family really liked this salad. I will admit, I used my own potato salad dressing recipe, but used the sweet potatoes with the regular potatoes. I really liked the color difference, it looked so festive! And it was gone before I knew it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States