Sweet Potato Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This is a great potato salad! The only substitution I made was green onion - my kids hate biting into bits of raw, hard onion, so chopped green onions always work nicely for me. The sweet potatoes added such a nice touch, and my husband, who thinks he hates sweet potato, thought they were carrots and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
this recipe is a lovely change from normal, heavy potato salad. Was flavorful and interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is a great recipe. I used 2 sweet potatoes to 1 white potato. I don't cook sweet potatoes very often - just a note, don't over cook the sweet potatoes. They cook faster than white potatoes and can get pretty mushy! I also omitted the eggs. Excellent dressing on the salad. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I didn't have any eggs on hand & this salad was still great - with eggs I'm sure even better! I found it easier to largely cube the potatoes before boiling, then they only needed twenty minutes cooking time & were all set to toss in the mayo mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
My family really liked this salad. I will admit, I used my own potato salad dressing recipe, but used the sweet potatoes with the regular potatoes. I really liked the color difference, it looked so festive! And it was gone before I knew it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made this for a cookout and it was really popular - the dish was wiped clean. I didn't make an alterations, other than using a little more mustard than called for, because I like the heat. Paprika never goes wrong - might try that next time. The second time I made it with a little diced red pepper and that worked. My only tips are to dice the celery and red onion pretty small, squish the potato pieces a little with your hands as you put them into the bowl, and don't skimp on the mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This was definitely different but very good. I think next time I will use 2 sweet potatoes and 1 white potato for a little more of the sweet potato flavor. I loved the different colors of the salad - very appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I Love this Recipe! My husband is not a fan of Potato Salad and he loved it! It is tasty and easy to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I'm not crazy about sweet potato salad so I just used regular potatoes. It came out very tasty. It could probably use less mayo though. I added green, red peppers and small cut up pieces of celery. It was great everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I wasn't too sure about this recipe at first, but it turned out really good. I wasn't sure about the sweet potato egg combination, but it is really good. I did cut the salt and pepper in half, I am glad I did it would have been way to peppery for my taste. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States