Sweet Potato Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
4 stars only because I'd love it to have more 'zing'! This was delicious - I didn't know such a thing existed until I went to make potato salad and discovered we were just about out of potatoes. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added a chopped apple and parsley. I also added a capful of vinegar but it still needs more zing. Anyway a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
If you double this, and make it as stated, it's WAY too much salt and pepper. Second time, added 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, and a few shakes. TOO MUCH SALT.Let sit overnight, and it is bitter!!! Added sugar, taste was good, great crunch from the celery. Let sit overnight again, bitter again!!! There's some sort of reaction from the sweet potatoes in this, that draws out any trace of sweetness. I don't like potato salad to be too sweet, but at least a touch. If you make it and leave out the salt and pepper, add a bit of sugar and serve right away. Nothing special at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
An excellent recipe that is easy to prepare... and tasty... the family was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adegea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is delicious, easy and nutritous. I used no celery or onion and used half sour cream in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
me and my daughter made this for some guest and everyone raved about it (first time making potato salad :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mr goodbar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Delicious....I used about a bag plus of red potatoes, 3 large sweet potatoes and a red onion (cause that's what I like). The guys at the firehouse loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I liked this potato salad a lot. I wish I knew how to make it a bit more vinegary. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Not only a yummy recipe, but so visually appealing also. Be careful not to overcook the potatoes or the potato salad will look like pinkish mashed potatoes rather than having the pretty distinctive variations in color. I used red potatoes and yams and added sweet pickles and it was gorgeous. white, orange, and green - a very colorful salad. Everybody raved about it at our family picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I was extremely sceptical about a salad made from sweet potatoes...but was pleasantly surprised. I was delighted with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good dish. I took the advice of some other reviews and added red pepper and apple and substituted in green onions. I also added curry powder to the mayonaise dressing. Variations are endless. Good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States