Sweet Potato Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Five stars. Didn't have any onions in the house, so used onion powder. Lots of it. Overcooked the sweet potatoes, but that worked great because they absorbed the ingredients more fully. I used a tad more American mustard than called for. Left out the celery. Used five eggs and 3 or 4 regular potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Since potato salad isn't one of my top 10 favorites, I was looking for a change to the standard. This is a good recipe and I agree with others who mentioned that it could use more flavor. I used only sweet potatoes. I peeled and cubed them before cooking so cooking time was only about 10 minutes (even with a larger cut I think 30 minutes would give you mush), plus I cooked them in chicken broth instead of water. Immediately after draining I spread them on a cookie sheet, and drizzled with a mixture of 2 Tbsp mustard and 2 Tbsp cider vinegar. I tossed the potatoes in this (The hot potatoes soak up a great deal of flavor this way) and then refrigerated them for about 30 minutes. Then I added them to the celery, egg and onion (I used a medium sized Vidalia and used the whole thing). I used half mayo and half sour cream and cut the mayo mixture with some milk to make it thinner. Even with the flavorful potatoes and the whole onion, it is still pretty bland. Next time I think I'll go with a stronger onion and maybe consider a Dijon mustard or one with horseradish. It's a good start but not quite a 5 star for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I used horseradish mustard instead of regular mustard, and added a little paprika. This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used only one sweet potato for, one serving added fennel instead of celery. Also add rosemary for taste I used a Jack Daniels south western mustard and two eggs one chopped one sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
YUM! I think 3 eggs is plenty, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it is quite good. We really enjoyed the sweet potato -- it wasn't at all weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great potato salad! It's getting me in the mood for summer. I wonder if the amounts of pepper and salt are errors, though. You only need 1/2 t salt and 1/4 t pepper, otherwise it overwhelms the dish (especially the pepper). I used Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard and it was soooo yummy. I'm saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good! Like the apple to add crispness and light dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Needs more flavor. Kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I really like this potatoe salad recipe (quick and simple).....I made a couple of changes....I did not include the sweet potatoe or celery but I used celery seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
One of the best potato salad recipes ever! So easy to make and healthier then the store bought salad. I did reduce the amount of mayonnaise by 1/4 cup and used a sweet onion which didn't give it that onion taste. Also, I pulled the sweet potatoes out about 5-10 mins early because they cooked much faster then the regular brown potatoes. All in all, a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States